Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Help with ASV problem?
Help with ASV problem?
Hi. I'm new to the forum and would love some idea or suggestions. I've been using an ASV for two years and my treatment has been successful until recently. 

I've been using the Resmed Aircurve 10 for about 2 years after being diagnosed with (primarily) Central Sleep apnea, with obstructive and Cheynes Stoke breathing also. I was having pretty severe symptoms of waking up with chest pain and gasping for breath and 02 dropping into the 70s. My AHI was 60-plus during REM and awakening with chest pain. 

My treatment went very well until recently, with enormous improvement, and I was having less than one AHI.

For a reason I can't figure out, I've started having intermittent episodes of extreme shortness of breath during sleep, awakening gasping and with chest pain. On average it happens two nights a week and it's fine for the other five nights. I've brought the machine in to Lincare to be checked out and they say it is fine. I've changed the mask and tubing. Some nights it's fine and works well and then some nights I'd swear I'm not getting air at all, but when I hold it to my face, air is clearly coming out. It feels like I have to breathe really hard to get the air in. 

I've gone back to the place where I had the sleep study and they look at the computer recording of my results and say that it doesn't look like anything is wrong. But I am waking up gasping and with chest pain for some reason, right?  They moved the EPAP from 5 to 6, and the pressure range is still 3 to 15. 

I had a really bad episode last night. The Myair report from resmed showed only 0.1 events per hour and my mask seal was supposedly perfect. But I woke up feeling terrible and literally gasping again.