Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Help with Leak rates
Help with Leak rates
[attachment=7631]Hi All

I hope this is the right place to post Sleepyhead screenshots!!

I am a physician, just on day 4 of my CPAP trying to learn all about this fascinating topic!

I am trying to interpret my data.  I have read a lot of the great tutorials on here!  Very detailed.

I am using Phillips Nasal Pillows and I am still unsure how to interpret the leak rate.  I realize that it says Large Leaks 0% but I want to make sure that the program is reading my machine.  I see leaks go up (and I know that some leaking is normal...just want to make sure this is "good enough"

I will attach my screenshot.  Any help would be appreciated!!!

Mike
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Help with Leak rates
Hi mikeinstlouis - Welcome

First, this actually belongs in the Main forum. I will ask that it be moved there to help others.  

Now on to business; How do you feel?  Do you feel air starved at this low pressure?  Most people feel better around 7cmH2O.   Since a Philips doesn't respond as fast as a Resmed, I would probably bump your starting pressure to at least 5.5cm.  This should start addressing your Hypos.  

Good luck!
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
Thanks for your replay and it was moved.