Post Reply 
Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
Author Message
xeroid966 Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2012

Machine: Phillips REMstar Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Phillips
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
A question about Phillips REMstar Auto A-Flex. I have had three machines over the years. My original unit is from the late 90's and is huge but still works. I have another older REMstar that is set in CPAP mode to level 10. My new REMstar is a never used but paid for unit originally prescribed to my late mother. The A-Flex drives me insane and actually wakes me up with all the pulses. I set it to CPAP mode as below but it still pulses. The only thing I can think of is I am not using a mask but Nasal Pillows held by an oral appliance from NoMask. Any Ideas how to squelch the pulses. It's hard to fall asleep. Otherwise I like the SystemOne Humidification which automatically adjust temp and humidity based on room temperature.

I set the unit :
Mode CPAP
CPAP pres 10
Flex type none
SYSTEM ONE resistance 0
(This post was last modified: 09-19-2012 05:58 PM by xeroid966.)
09-19-2012 05:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: [split] Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex [copied from old forum]
Xeroid, I moved your post to here in the Main Forum where it will get better responses than in the Review Forum.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-19-2012 09:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,450
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
Hi exroid96, First, WELCOME! to the forum.! I'm not sure but I would think you could turn that feature completely off but hang in there and someone will be able to help you. Best of luck to you on this nagging problem.

trish6hundred
09-19-2012 10:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
What do you mean by "pulses?" When do you feel them? With each breath, or just once in a great while?

The PRS1 does do pressure pulses, but only while you're having an apnea.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
09-20-2012 03:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
ericxob Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto A-Flex Model 560
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: PR System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 5 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
(09-19-2012 05:57 PM)xeroid966 Wrote:  . . .The A-Flex drives me insane and actually wakes me up with all the pulses. . . .

I'm guessing that the "pulses" you refer to are from the exhalation pressure-relief activities of the machine. Which I suppose could be irritating to someone who is used to a constant pressure.

I haven't tried this, but it looks like that in Provider Mode it is possible to set Flex Mode to "none."

(Note that the word "pulses" could lead one to think you are talking about the probing pulses the machine sends out when it detects suspected apnea events.)
06-20-2014 10:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #6
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
(06-20-2014 10:21 PM)ericxob Wrote:  I haven't tried this, but it looks like that in Provider Mode it is possible to set Flex Mode to "none."

It's also possible to do this from the user menu. If not, then you can go into the provider menu and set it so that you can adjust it from the user menu. Or do as you say and turn it off that way.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-20-2014 10:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
diamaunt Offline

Members-b

Posts: 436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Auto 36006
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: mirage quattro/pilairo q
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 9-20ish
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: texas

Post: #7
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
(06-20-2014 10:34 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  
(06-20-2014 10:21 PM)ericxob Wrote:  I haven't tried this, but it looks like that in Provider Mode it is possible to set Flex Mode to "none."

It's also possible to do this from the user menu. If not, then you can go into the provider menu and set it so that you can adjust it from the user menu. Or do as you say and turn it off that way.

if a/cflex is set in the provider menu, you can't turn it off from the user menu, you can only change the level 1-3, the resmed machines allow the user to select off-3, but the prs1 doesn't allow that much user control.
06-20-2014 11:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
robysue Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,240
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #8
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
(09-19-2012 05:57 PM)xeroid966 Wrote:  REMstar is a never used but paid for unit originally prescribed to my late mother. The A-Flex drives me insane and actually wakes me up with all the pulses. I set it to CPAP mode as below but it still pulses.
There are three possible causes for the "pulses" you are feeling, and you've already eliminated two of them.

Possible causes of pulsing on a System One Auto PAP:

1) In Auto mode, the PR System One has a "Search" algorithm that tests whether or not the breathing improves with a bit more pressure. As the main part of this algorithm the machine periodically increases the pressure by about 2 cm in a 4 minute span testing to see if there are any improvements in the shape of the wave flow. If no improvements are found, the machine then lowers the pressure back down to its original level in about 2 minutes. I don't think this is what you were feeling when you were running in Auto mode because this increase in pressure does not usually feel like a "pulse." So I don't think this was the culprit when you were using the machine in Auto mode. And you've switched to CPAP mode, so this is definitely NOT what you are continuing to notice.

2) A-Flex or C-Flex. You said that A-Flex was driving you nuts. (The BiPAP version drives me nuts; but hubby likes A-Flex) Flex drops the pressure at the beginning of each inhalation and then it starts to increase the pressure back up in the second half of the exhalation, and finishes raising the pressure all the way back up once the inhalation is detected. Since the pressure is changing with each and every breath (and by a variable amount), this can be perceived as a "pulsating" sensation. But you say you've turned A-Flex off. You also said that you switched to CPAP mode. So it's worth making sure that C-Flex+ is indeed turned off. Still I'm pretty sure you really have turned all forms of Flex off. And if Flex is off, this is not what you are feeling.

3) Pressure Pulses (PP). The central apnea detection algorithm uses short bursts of pressure (i.e. PPs) to test the patency of the upper airway. These are very short lived "bursts" of extra pressure. The machine analyzes what happens to the back pressure and uses that information to decide whether an apnea is an obstructive apnea or a central apnea. The machine also uses PPs to try to figure out whether there's a live human being attached to the other end of the hose when its having a hard time detecting the breathing. This typically happens if the leaks are really high, but it can happen under other circumstances as well. My guess is that you're noticing the PPs. And unfortunately, the PPs can't be turned off---they're a critical part of the efficacy data scoring algorithm.

That said, if the problem is PPs, you shouldn't be feeling them on most breaths. And there is a way to figure out whether it's the PPs that are really causing problems: You could down load SleepyHead and import your data. PPs show up as little green boxes on the wave flow data in SleepyHead. If you see a whole bunch of them, then you have some additional evidence that it's the PPs that might be driving you batty.

Most people who notice the PP when they first start using a PR System One tend to become less sensitive to them with time. So you could try to give yourself a bit more time to adjust to them. Or, of course, you could go back to one of your older, but tried-and-true machines.
06-20-2014 11:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sandybird Offline

Members

Posts: 14
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: Phillips Respironics System One Series 60 Auto (560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 for Her
Humidifier: systemOne
CPAP Pressure: 17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #9
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
robysue,
this was really helpful info. thank for typing this all out.
S
06-21-2014 06:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: Help with Respironics PR System One REMstar Auto with A-flex
(09-20-2012 03:16 AM)archangle Wrote:  What do you mean by "pulses?" When do you feel them? With each breath, or just once in a great while?

The PRS1 does do pressure pulses, but only while you're having an apnea.
From S9 AutoSet white paper:

The enhanced AutoSet algorithm applies FOT only when an apnea is detected and turns it off once normal breathing has resumed.
.
.
.
The 1 cm H2O amplitude pulses are able to be perceived by a patient if they are awake but are not large enough to arouse them from sleep.
06-22-2014 04:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] respironics bipap error code hanasdaddy 6 113 Yesterday 01:48 AM
Last Post: hanasdaddy
  Respironics 9 minute cycle with no events. pixpop 2 85 12-06-2016 09:17 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] Respironics blower failure SleepyinMTL 2 134 12-03-2016 12:52 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  REMStar SE with DOT Compliance musicman85 11 400 12-01-2016 09:08 PM
Last Post: musicman85
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 20,018 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
  philips remstar auto a-flex skylersdad 2 170 11-29-2016 05:47 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  PR System One: C-Check vs Auto? Ailu 8 3,018 11-29-2016 02:04 PM
Last Post: TonyJ

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)