Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Help with aerophagia and nausea during use of CPAP
Help with aerophagia and nausea during use of CPAP
Hello everyone,

I am quite new to CPAP - was diagnosed with Sleep Apnea late March (of this year) and have been using the CPAP since April 1st. I have the Phillips DreamStation Auto CPAP, with nose pillows mask, and all in all I have become accustomed to it, if ever you can really get accustomed to sleeping with a machine attached to your face Sad

That said, I am occasionally experiencing aerophagia and nausea, sometime to the point when I wake up in the middle of the night looking pregnant! Seriously... During the day the feeling goes away, but honestly, it is very uncomfortable and sometimes quite unbearable, especially if I have a little too much to drink that evening (which I probably shouldn't do, but on some occasions it happens). One of the nights I woke up feeling actual pressure in my chest, literally feeling that swallowed air locked inside me due to the CPAP use!

I think the pressure setting is fine for me, as the AHI normally stays bellow 5 (an average of around 3.5), and 90% of the time the pressure doesn't go above 9 (I learnt how to see that in the setting section of my machine). the mask is well sealed (100%). 

I read that maybe I should use the C-flex option (I am now set with A-flex), and increase it to 3 (I think now it is set to 2). Also, I use the humidifier at a level of 3, perhaps I should decrease it? I honestly don't know if it has any effect on the gassy stomach issues... I did also read about the need to elevate of my pillow, though I quite like sleeping on my side, and then it could possibly not work well with an elevated pillow when it comes to my neck...