Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Hi I am new! Need help understanding some stuff
Hi I am new! Need help understanding some stuff
Hi everyone! I am new to both this forums and CPAP/BiPAP machine. Abit of background story.

My doctor diagnose me with serious obstructive sleep apnea and refer me to a vendor to get the CPAP machine. There is no prescription.

The vendor look through my sleep report and proceed to give me a trial CPAP unit with humidifier (for 1month). The setting he set for me is 4min 15max. I have to buy a mask for hygiene purpose for the trial unit. I brought Comfort Gel Full Face CPAP Mask. 

I decided that CPAP is really really hard to make me fall asleep and I brought a Respironics DreamStation BIPAP Auto with Heated Humidifier - DSX700H11 & Nuance Pro Nasal Pillow System thinking that BiPAP review seem like it can work miracle.

Now the reason for the nasal mask is I really wanted to train to breathe with my nose, due to sinus issue I frequently have blocked nose and have being breathing through mouth for 80% of my life. Using the CPAP/BiPAP machine somehow miraculously enable me to breathe through my nose in daytime and so far I experience zero flu symptom or blocked nose that urge me to try use my nose to breathe even more.

Now the problem, regardless which machine I use, I found that breathing through nose with the mask give me a feeling like I am not breathing enough air. I kept breathing harder and harder. Using FFM, I will use my mouth to breathe until I fall asleep and unsure whether I use my mouth or nose to breathe.