Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] Mouth Leaks and Frequent Awakenings
Mouth Leaks and Frequent Awakenings
Hey all, hoping someone has had this same experience and can offer some advice. I’ve been using the N30i mask for a couple months and love it. I fall asleep very quickly and feel very comfortable wearing it. Very early on I realized mouth leaks were waking me up and making my mouth bone dry so I began taping my mouth which works great, but I’m still waking up throughout the night and feel tired and unrefreshed all day. For a little bit of background info: I'm an otherwise healthy 37 male, 5'-10", 190 lbs, moderately active/go to the gym 4-5 days per week, no problem falling asleep, all of my lab work is great, blood pressure is healthy, normal ECG except for sinus bradycardia, no medications.

I’ve tuned my machine settings pretty well and therapy overall is going great according to the most recent data. Using CPAP mode at 8cmh2o with EPR at 1 seems to provide me with a good balance of keeping both CAs and flow limits low while treating pretty much all other apneas. Most CAs I get are while I’m awake in the middle of the night when I take slow breaths. I will feel the pressure pulse from the machine and know it’s flagging it as a CA.