Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

High Resp Rate
High Resp Rate
I'm new to using an APAP, as I just started 2 weeks ago. I have a Resmed S9 in the Autoset mode.

I'm sleeping well, with an AHI right around 2.0. I have noticed a trend occuring in the middle of the night. When I am sleeping my respiration rate (Breaths/minute) suddenly increase from about 15 to 20. This lasts for about an hour and returns to normal. This can sometimes occur one or twice per night. Is this REM sleep perhaps?

A typical graph is at:

[Image: Elevated%20Resp%20Rate.JPG]

Sorry, I'm too new to allow links.

**** I fixed it for you. In the future, use it as an attachment. See the how-to here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ttachments

And when you are here long enough to be able to post links, this is how you do an image:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...13#pid3213
- PaulaO2

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: High Resp Rate
Hi Kbeckman, Welcome

I believe this is happening when you just enter REM.

I have similar patterns too, while in REM, according to WebMD: In people without sleep disorders, heart rate and respiration speed up and become erratic during REM sleep. During this stage the eyes move rapidly in different directions.

Ren
Post Reply Post Reply
I tried using an attachment, but it said I couldn't do that either....
Post Reply Post Reply
(12-19-2012, 03:44 PM)kbeckman Wrote: I tried using an attachment, but it said I couldn't do that either....

Hi kbeckman, welcome to Apnea Board!

There are file size limits - the file you tried to attach was a bit too large.

See this thread, which gives the limits: