Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Higher AHI since concussion, HELP
Higher AHI since concussion, HELP
Hello!

I've been using BiPAP for almost 2 years after using CPAP for a couple years prior.  I was switched to BiPAP when I started getting more and more centrals.

Anyway, back on Sept 8th, I was a passenger in a car accident and got a pretty good consussion out of the deal.  Since then, my AHI has been much higher.  ( I was averaging about 3 before the accident, average of about 7-8 the last couple weeks )

Im going to try and attach last nights data for anyone to give me some suggestions.

Seems like after I get a bunch of OSA events and the pressure maxes out, it triggers some CSA events and cycles back and forth.  How do I get relief here?  

I had a great sleep doc who just recently retired and I'm still on the hunt for a new doc.  

Thanks in advance,

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Higher AHI since concussion, HELP
See the clusters of obstructive events?  They are an indicator of a form of positional apnea that is typically caused by tucking your chin toward your chest.  The first try at fixing is to try a simple pillow modification.  Flatter, less firm, a feather pillow vs foam, a buckwheat pillow, or simply using 1 vs 2 pillows.  If this doesn't work a soft cervical collar usually does.  Read the Collar wiki article linked in my signature.  BTW increasing pressure does not resolve this.

If you can provide a 10 minute zoomed image of your chart It will help us with the nature of the Centrals that you are having.
Post Reply Post Reply