Post Reply 
Hoping someone can help!!!
Author Message
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #11
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
If you can't get to it in the regular settings, then you have to go into the clinical settings to do it. To do this hold down the knob button and double check mark button simultaneously for about three seconds, this takes you to the clinical menu. Turn the knob one click counterclockwise until the little icon with two check marks is highlighted then click the knob button and turn counter clockwise two clicks until Smartstart is highlighted. Click the knob again and this will allow you to change the Smartstart settings by turning the knob and clicking.. You can set it to off to see if that's where your problem is. If you set it to "patient" then it will put Smartstart out on the regular settings and you can change it from there.

Have you tried to use a surge protector to see if that's the problem?
01-03-2013 08:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
apneastinks Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #12
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
Thank you! Ill try that.......no I havent tried a surge protector yet......
01-03-2013 08:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
apneastinks Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #13
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
Ok.......got into the menu..... but found that the smart start option is greyed out with off selected and it wont let you change it.
01-03-2013 08:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,068
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #14
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
Which S9 do you have? By the on/off is the name.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
01-03-2013 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
apneastinks Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #15
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
The (autoset)
01-03-2013 09:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,068
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #16
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
Are you in the patient menu or the clinician menu?

To select something to change it, tap the knob button. Whatever it is on turns orange. Turn the knob to select whatever and top the knob button again to set it.

If you are in the patient menu and tapping the button doesn't make a difference, then in the clinician menu, it is set to "on" vs "patient".

You'll need to get into the clinician menu to set it, if that's not where you are.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
01-03-2013 09:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #17
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
What Paula said.

To get to the "clinician" settings you have to push down on the knob and settings buttons (two check marks) simultaneously and hold them down for about three seconds. This is the double super secret menu they (DMEs) don't want you to know about. This is not the menu you get by just pushing the double check mark button.
01-03-2013 10:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #18
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
for the S9 clinician setup menu instructions ... see section one
S9 clinician manual available via email ... section three
scroll down ... HOW TO ASK FOR A MANUAL VIA EMAIL:
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

S9 setup instructions ... pictures and video
[Image: s9-pic1.jpg]

http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

link to ResScan download instructions and interpretation guide (post #1)
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ersion-4-2
01-03-2013 11:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zimlich Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 392
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics PR System One BiPap Auto SV Advanced
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed gel Nasal Mask
Humidifier: System One
CPAP Pressure: 8-20 ASV, 8 EPAP,PS 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I use the Quattro FFM when necessary

Sex: Female
Location: Norfolk, VA

Post: #19
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
To turn off the smart stop you need to go into the clinicians menu. Download the manual (from this site) and get the directions. It's very simple- I used to use a ResMed. I think you should take the machine back to thew DME and have it checked.
Good luck,
Mary
Ah, I see someone better equipped to help stepped up- good.
(This post was last modified: 01-04-2013 08:18 AM by zimlich.)
01-04-2013 08:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ugly Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 568
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Hydrocephalus, myopia, depression, chronic ugliness, stupidity, tinnitus, mixed sleep apnea.

Sex: Male
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada

Post: #20
RE: Hoping someone can help!!!
(01-04-2013 08:16 AM)zimlich Wrote:  To turn off the smart stop you need to go into the clinicians menu. Download the manual (from this site) and get the directions. It's very simple- I used to use a ResMed. I think you should take the machine back to thew DME and have it checked.
Good luck,
Mary
Ah, I see someone better equipped to help stepped up- good.

Funny but that didn't seem to work in the S8 AutoSet II. I didn't let it bother me much though, since I only used it for three weeks before having to return it.
01-04-2013 12:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  intro/hoping to use wife's cpap temporarily fredflintstone 8 421 09-05-2016 05:57 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  Supply reselling (hoping not to start a flame war) Snowbird47 17 1,548 12-20-2015 12:06 AM
Last Post: justMongo
  new here: hoping to help others and myself multime 32 4,057 04-27-2015 07:23 AM
Last Post: quiescence at last
  21.6 AHI. Hoping surgery will do the trick. eh33 23 5,268 02-21-2013 01:55 AM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)