Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Hose length change
#1
Will changing from a 6 foot to a 10 foot hose affect pressure?

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Found this older thread on hose length, but still informative.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ose-length
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
The 6 ft hose is really supposed to be 2 meters which is about 6' 6". (The cheapo one's DMEs provide are only 72"=6 ft.)
The 10 ft is actually 3 meters.

On Resmed machines, there is a setting for the two hose lengths.
I do not know about PR machines.

The 3 meter may have a slightly larger pressure drop at high flow rates.

It's remotely possible that the oscillation technique for discriminating between clear and obstructed airway events could be effected.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(01-31-2016, 11:37 AM)OpalRose Wrote: Found this older thread on hose length, but still informative.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ose-length
Thanks for the link. Believe it or not I searched for related threads a couple of times before posting my question. I must have used the wrong keywords

(01-31-2016, 11:48 AM)justMongo Wrote: The 6 ft hose is really supposed to be 2 meters which is about 6' 6". (The cheapo one's DMEs provide are only 72"=6 ft.)
The 10 ft is actually 3 meters.

On Resmed machines, there is a setting for the two hose lengths.
I do not know about PR machines.

The 3 meter may have a slightly larger pressure drop at high flow rates.

It's remotely possible that the oscillation technique for discriminating between clear and obstructed airway events could be effected.
Thanks for the info. It looks like I don't have anything to worry about.

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(01-31-2016, 12:20 PM)pupcamper Wrote: Thanks for the info. It looks like I don't have anything to worry about.

You should be fine. Kindest regards, Mongo
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Thanks Mongo. I'm still new at this and probably over think things sometimes. I've been reading through old threads trying to get up to speed. There is a tremendous amount of info on this forum. One thing I have learned, these tiny machines we all depend on are amazingly sophisticated and more complex than I would have ever dreamed. The more I use the board the more impressed I am at the vast amount of knowledge and talent that is available to it's users.

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
There is an interim solution. I use the standard 2 meter heated hose plus an 18 inch SleepWeaver featherweight hose. This gives me ~7.5 feet total and a much lighter drag on my mask, especially since I also us an oxygen concentrator with an adapter and additional tubing at the mask end of my heated hose.
I have never considered the extra length or the addition of 2 LPM of O2 having any effect on my therapy.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
I'll add a note about O2 induction into the CPAP stream.
According to ResMed, their machines can handle up to 5 LPM of O2 induction into the CPAP stream.
I too have a concentrator and induce 2 LPM into the stream.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
I think that with auto machines it does not make a lot of difference, since the machine is going to use whatever pressure it finds necessary to control the apneas and if the machine keeps going to the high or low setting and staying there a lot, the informed user will adjust their range to give the machine room to find the best pressures. So the actual pressure is not really that important.

It may be more important for a single pressure machine but even so the informed user will adjust to get the best results. Most of these settings do make a palpable difference. I say that with some authority having mistakenly left the machine on several wrong settings. Used it and noticed some difference and figured out my mistake and corrected it feeling rather foolish and glad no one was watching me be so forgetful. Well that is my story.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
Hi all,
I am interested in the answer to this as well. Trialling a dreamstation, like I further than 6 ft from bed so want to use two lengths of tube. Is this okay? I can choose either 15mm or 22mm which is better? An engineer said the 22mm would require more air volume so may make machine work harder. Any thoughts? Has anyone used a 10 ft or more on dreamstation? Thanks in advance.
Cheers
Steve
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] O2 Pressure/Diverter Valve with VPaP and ClimateLine Heated Hose? gamegrrl 3 55 8 hours ago
Last Post: eseedhouse
  [Treatment] Can a Sleep Number bed change my treatment? doickle 18 473 02-21-2017, 11:48 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  How often to change P10 pillows Cranberry Ray 13 678 02-10-2017, 03:07 PM
Last Post: dogmuck
Question Old hose-heads: How Often? PollCat 30 3,609 02-10-2017, 02:24 PM
Last Post: harmon k
Ohmy Stop Simplus hose swivel from squeaking? Russatrice 7 262 02-06-2017, 02:14 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
Question Hose Cover sunrise06 8 244 02-02-2017, 11:13 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Apex XT Fit: slim or regular hose? tedgreen 2 162 02-01-2017, 12:31 AM
Last Post: tedgreen

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.