Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How do I stop mask removal while sleeping?
How do I stop mask removal while sleeping?
Thumbnail sketch of history:

Started CPAP 7/15 and used for 3 months, had to return as failed compliance, pressure setting 18, couldn't breathe out against pressure

No CPAP again until 3/17, time period between was preparation for my bariatric sleeve stomach surgery for weight loss, resulted in 100 pound loss

On BiPap 3/17 to about 4/17, was failing compliance already, more tired with than w/o BiPap, CA discovered and going to ASV after passing heart echo test

8/11 after fighting to get ASV, I finally have ResMed ASV at home as result of 6/30 PSG for ASV

Above results in I'm still an xPAP newbie IMO

After posting a rough looking early SH chart, I made pressure adjustments as suggested on my Newbie post. They are still my current settings and are as follows: EPAP of 8-12 and PS of 2-15. Other settings such as humidifier and heated hose vary but are always used. Ramp time is another area that's variable, I cannot fall asleep quickly, as in more than 30 minutes is typical. I have tried ramp time of 5-15 and 30 min. with pressure of 6 - 6.6.

I am going to primary care doc today to discuss a prescription sleep aid for a month or two until I get used to the machine so I don't take the mask off and turning off the ASV. I have moved the machine further away after from the bed after the first night. So, maybe it turns itself off? Smart start is set to off. I am turning on the leak alert for tonight, which BTW disables smart start as an option. I'm guessing if I remove the mask, it will alert me and I can put it back on and fall back asleep.