Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

How do you turn off the Flex on Dreamstation
#1
Even though the Flex is turn down to 1, I am still straining to inhale at the start of an inhalation and then it surges. 

I hacked the machine and set the A-flex/C-flex/None to None but the Flex is still happening. The pressure is dropping way down and then it has a delay so I am straining to inhale then it surges and there is a blast. 

Really want to turn it off. When I take naps I wear my machine and I can't nod off with me getting nasal blasts followed by not enough air. They sold me the machine without their hoses. 

However, in reviewing how it runs, it infers what needs to be done based on the back pressure at the machine and it seems the algorithms will always be a little off.
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
You have to turn off Aflex in the therapy menu, instructions in the cpap setup manuals link, at the top of the page.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I was on C-Flex, changed it to none. Also, changed the mask setting from X2 to none. Seemed to eliminate most of the problem.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(04-06-2017, 07:27 PM)sleepy1235 Wrote: Even though the Flex is turn down to 1, I am still straining to inhale at the start of an inhalation and then it surges. 

I hacked the machine and set the A-flex/C-flex/None to None but the Flex is still happening. The pressure is dropping way down and then it has a delay so I am straining to inhale then it surges and there is a blast. 

Really want to turn it off. When I take naps I wear my machine and I can't nod off with me getting nasal blasts followed by not enough air. They sold me the machine without their hoses. 

However, in reviewing how it runs, it infers what needs to be done based on the back pressure at the machine and it seems the algorithms will always be a little off.

Are you using a Philips Respironics Dreamstation, or the Resmed S9 Elite in your profiile? The Resmed uses EPR rather than flex, and it follows your breathing.   Your profile shows a CPAP pressure of 15.  If flex is off (dreamstation), or EPR (Resmed), then there should be no lag in pressure.  We could verify this using SleepyHead data that shows the mask pressure on a Resmed. 

Maybe update your profile to correct anything we're missing?
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Transitioning machines. Haven't updated yet until I make final decision.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Admin Note] WANTED: CLINICIAN SETUP MANUAL for 60-series PR System One REMstar Plus w/ C-Flex SuperSleeper 2 110 Yesterday, 04:34 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  Connect to DreamStation over Wifi? JRoque 7 257 08-19-2017, 10:19 AM
Last Post: C0mbe
  About to order a Dreamstation Go DanPrado 54 6,528 08-18-2017, 05:24 PM
Last Post: tjb1013
  Dreamstation Mask Settings. JohnnyRotten 6 200 08-15-2017, 09:00 AM
Last Post: tomkatt
  [split] Masks with DreamStation Go levman 4 190 08-12-2017, 08:29 AM
Last Post: levman
  dreamstation humidifier and hose leak jacob.fullmer 3 224 08-11-2017, 04:26 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla
  [Equipment] Dreamstation GO DC input? OMyMyOHellYes 2 163 08-10-2017, 03:27 PM
Last Post: OMyMyOHellYes

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.