Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

How do you turn off the Flex on Dreamstation
#1
Even though the Flex is turn down to 1, I am still straining to inhale at the start of an inhalation and then it surges. 

I hacked the machine and set the A-flex/C-flex/None to None but the Flex is still happening. The pressure is dropping way down and then it has a delay so I am straining to inhale then it surges and there is a blast. 

Really want to turn it off. When I take naps I wear my machine and I can't nod off with me getting nasal blasts followed by not enough air. They sold me the machine without their hoses. 

However, in reviewing how it runs, it infers what needs to be done based on the back pressure at the machine and it seems the algorithms will always be a little off.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
You have to turn off Aflex in the therapy menu, instructions in the cpap setup manuals link, at the top of the page.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I was on C-Flex, changed it to none. Also, changed the mask setting from X2 to none. Seemed to eliminate most of the problem.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
(04-06-2017, 07:27 PM)sleepy1235 Wrote: Even though the Flex is turn down to 1, I am still straining to inhale at the start of an inhalation and then it surges. 

I hacked the machine and set the A-flex/C-flex/None to None but the Flex is still happening. The pressure is dropping way down and then it has a delay so I am straining to inhale then it surges and there is a blast. 

Really want to turn it off. When I take naps I wear my machine and I can't nod off with me getting nasal blasts followed by not enough air. They sold me the machine without their hoses. 

However, in reviewing how it runs, it infers what needs to be done based on the back pressure at the machine and it seems the algorithms will always be a little off.

Are you using a Philips Respironics Dreamstation, or the Resmed S9 Elite in your profiile? The Resmed uses EPR rather than flex, and it follows your breathing.   Your profile shows a CPAP pressure of 15.  If flex is off (dreamstation), or EPR (Resmed), then there should be no lag in pressure.  We could verify this using SleepyHead data that shows the mask pressure on a Resmed. 

Maybe update your profile to correct anything we're missing?
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Transitioning machines. Haven't updated yet until I make final decision.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Noisy DreamStation BandMom 53 17,769 02-19-2018, 10:55 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  ResMed Heated Hose--Doesn't Really Turn Off Snorzz 8 259 02-19-2018, 09:49 PM
Last Post: Gary1of2
  Respironics Dreamstation - noisy motor? bernie01 23 525 02-17-2018, 09:32 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] Aircurve vs Dreamstation Data Recording question bfry 31 729 02-16-2018, 08:31 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Respironics DreamStation APAP - humidification ghstudio 3 241 02-12-2018, 01:40 AM
Last Post: Hydrangea
  Is my Dreamstation on the fritz? Madcat207 11 420 02-08-2018, 03:54 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto Theiceman 22 612 02-06-2018, 09:45 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.