Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] oral appliance instead of CPAP?
oral appliance instead of CPAP?
I've been using CPAP for 2 months for mild apnea. Adjusting to CPAP treatment is not going well and I've only been able to achieve the minimum 4 hours per night usage 11 nights out of 53.  I'm considering asking my dentist about an oral appliance instead of CPAP to keep my airway open. Has anyone tried this? Did it work?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: oral appliance instead of CPAP?
I too had trouble with CPAP and ended up in the hospital for an anxiety disorder because of it.  I then tried an oral appliance.  It has been a while ago and I don't remember the exact numbers, but the oral appliance tended to cut my AHI in half from what it was without it.

However, central apnea was part of my problem, so I again tried the CPAP with the hope of treating my central apnea.  The secret to getting used to the CPAP was to use it during the day while I watched TV and for naps.  It took a while and I was eventually able to get a good night’s sleep with the CPAP.  I now use the CPAP successfully, but it did not start out that way.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi, singergal67.  I consulted my medical and dental professionals about a mandibular advancement device.  They were concerned that it was less effective than CPAP and could irritate the temporal mandibular joint and cause chronic pain.  

If you download OSCAR and post charts here, experienced users can provide advice on how to adjust your settings to improve comfort and effectiveness of CPAP.
Post Reply Post Reply
Frankfuss,