Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[How to] Twice a year clock change
#21
There are a couple of time zones on the 15 minute (or 45), and one that isn't one some odd time since they insist that time is still based on their capital city (Nepal I believe.)
(Unless some of this has changed in the last couple of years.)

I time mastered one of the largest banks in the world a few years ago (for Windows servers) and learned far to much about this.

When I first started using my machine in January, I lost a session or two, apparently due to correcting the time on the machine (probably that setting it backwards issue.)

Forward setting time is always less troublesome than setting it backwards. Forward setting "skips time" but backward adjustments cause the "same time" to happen twice.

Confusing for humans but nearly mind blowing to computer programs not build for such things.
Sweet Dreams,

HerbM
Sleep study AHI: 49 RDI: 60 -- APAP 10-11 w/AHI: 1.5 avg for 7-days (up due likely to hip replacement recovery)

"We can all breathe together or we will all suffocate alone."
Post Reply Post Reply
#22
Personally, I don't see any reason to change the time on my cpap. Rolleyes It doesn't affect anything that the machine does other than record historical data. Thinking-about But then again, I only monitor my data once in a blue moon. Bigwink
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. 
ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.
INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINIONS ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY STATEMENTS OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#23
(03-08-2014, 11:06 PM)justMongo Wrote: Did you know Australia has a time zone in the middle of the Northern Territory that is on the half hour?

Yeah, South Australia and Northern territory are half an hour ahead of the east coast. Just to make things more interesting Western Australia, Queensland and NT don't have daylight saving. Tasmania starts a week or two ahead of the other states. So at times there are three time zones on the east coast and five across the country. You should hear the Radio national guys giving a time call. Dielaughing

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply


#24
I have decided to take this time change thingy a little at a time. So I'll move my clocks up 10 minutes/day for the next few days. I'm still not going to tell the cats though.

Post Reply Post Reply
#25
(03-10-2014, 11:47 AM)retired_guy Wrote: I have decided to take this time change thingy a little at a time. So I'll move my clocks up 10 minutes/day for the next few days. I'm still not going to tell the cats though.


Wise man. (re: the part about not telling the cats). Coffee
SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply
#26
Oh my head is hurting thinking about this. I had forgotten about it so thanks PaulaO2 for the reminder. I many not worry about this for a couple weeks. As I know I am going backwards 3 hours in time zones on Friday. Last time I made this trip, I recall time on my machine automatically updated with the time change. At the time I had the transmitter from DME on the machine and wondered if that caused it to update somehow. Be interesting to see what happens with it.
Post Reply Post Reply


#27
What's the big deal?

It took all of 30 seconds to change the Resmed S9 Autoset, and if you know the key press to enter the Clinical Menus (hold lower info button and right main button until it changes the display) then it doesn't require a manual.

Most electronic clocks and watches were more difficult to change than this.

BTW, my type was about 7 minutes off from 38 days ago when I last set it.

Sweet Dreams,

HerbM
Sleep study AHI: 49 RDI: 60 -- APAP 10-11 w/AHI: 1.5 avg for 7-days (up due likely to hip replacement recovery)

"We can all breathe together or we will all suffocate alone."
Post Reply Post Reply
#28
(03-10-2014, 05:11 PM)herbm Wrote: What's the big deal?

It took all of 30 seconds to change the Resmed S9 Autoset, and if you know the key press to enter the Clinical Menus (hold lower info button and right main button until it changes the display) then it doesn't require a manual.

Most electronic clocks and watches were more difficult to change than this.

BTW, my type was about 7 minutes off from 38 days ago when I last set it.

Sure, no big deal for you! You live in Texas for crying out loud. By the way, I have a daughter in Austin. Not too tall, dark hair.... You've probably seen her around town somewhere........... Next time you run into her tell her to call home.


Post Reply Post Reply
#29
(03-10-2014, 12:31 PM)ImaSurvivor Wrote: At the time I had the transmitter from DME on the machine and wondered if that caused it to update somehow.

Never heard of this. What is the "transmitter from DME"?
Post Reply Post Reply


#30
Just the compliance modem, JJJ.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Filter change in back of machine Southerngent1 4 69 3 hours ago
Last Post: OpalRose
  P-10 Pillows: how to change headgear...? S.L. Ping Beauty 11 261 09-22-2017, 06:23 PM
Last Post: Sheepish
  10 year cpap user - new machine jminminnesota 5 159 09-15-2017, 06:14 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  One Year Anniversary and Perplexed Spy Car 83 2,078 09-15-2017, 05:34 PM
Last Post: Spy Car
  What would you recommend I change my CPAP settings to? Included my charts swift 7 218 09-15-2017, 05:40 AM
Last Post: swift
  Z1 settings change Rydermuttart 6 232 09-06-2017, 08:09 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  settings change? Gary1of2 6 236 09-04-2017, 03:30 PM
Last Post: Gary1of2

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.