Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How to clean a heated h
How to clean a heated h
Last week I got a heated hose for my Bi-Pap. It had no cleaning instructions. I didn't even think to ask the Home Health Care how to clean it. I read online not to submerge in water. Oops, I already washed it in water and I did submerge. Hope it will work. How do you clean yours?

Sleepyv
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: How to clean a heated h
I wash mine (ResMed, not Philips) in hot soapy water and rinse thoroughly in very hot water, once a week. Everything gets submerged. I've been using the same hose for three years with no problems whatsoever.
Post Reply Post Reply
I wash my Respironics heated hose in hot soapy water and rinse well, being careful not to submerge the contacts. A little water probably won't hurt them. Be careful about sticking anything in the end that connects to the mask, on the Respironics heated hose anyway. The humidity sensor could be damaged.
Useful Links
Download OSCAR
Organize your OSCAR and SleepyHead charts
Attaching images and files to posts

Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies. Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
Post Reply Post Reply
I place a small piece of electrical tape over the electrical contacts at the end of the hose, then wash in hot soapy water, rinse well, hang to dry.

I would imagine it's ok if the contacts got wet as long as it is dry before using, I just like to play it safe.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com

Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing therapy
OSCAR supported machines
Mask Primer