Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How to get prescription for auto-BiPAP machine?
Question 
How to get prescription for auto-BiPAP machine?
Hi, I'm new to Apnea Board. I'm a skinny 32-year-old white male, and I've always been a light/nonrestorative sleeper. I have problems with both sleep quality and sleep maintenance. I wake up tired even after 7–8 hrs of sleep, wake up with headaches, have hypnagogic and hypnopompic hallucinations, and all that good stuff.

I've had two sleep doctors over the past three years (had to leave the first one due to moving across the country). We didn't really get anywhere with the first one. When I first met with my current doctor in October, she immediately suspected UARS and ordered a sleep study. The day finally came in December, and I slept a total of four hours. (Fun fact: They unintentionally had the thermostat set to 74 ºF, so it was too hot in the room overnight.) Of those four hours, only 15 minutes were REM sleep. I had no apneas or hypopneas, as expected. My RERA score was 1.92, but she said that this is not enough information to determine whether or not I had UARS, since UARS is worst in REM and I spent so little time in REM. Therefore, she is recommending a clean-living / good-sleep-hygiene approach for me. However, I'm worried that I might be having breathing problems overnight (i.e., UARS).

Is it reasonable for me to request a prescription for an Auto-BiPAP machine so I can try one out? I'm hoping to purchase one (e.g., PR DreamStation Auto BiPAP) out-of-pocket. While the initial cost is significant, it would be trivial in the long run if it could actually improve the quality of my sleep.