Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How to hug the Grandchildren in the Era of COVID - Use your CPAP Machine
How to hug the Grandchildren in the Era of COVID - Use your CPAP Machine
Because of COVID I haven't been able to hug my grandchildren for several months - Intolerable situation - right!

So As an engineer I should be able to engineer a solution
I'll simply completely wrap myself in disposable plastic - Problem solved YIKES except for the side effect of suffocating after the first minute
What to do - CPAP TO THE RESCUE. Put the CPAP machine away from the grandchildren where the intake air should be safe and for good measure add a in-line Bacterial/viral filter between the delivery hose and the mask

PROBLEM SOLVED - COVID defeated

Post Reply Post Reply

Donate to Apnea Board  
RE: How to hug the Grandchildren in the Era of COVID - Use your CPAP Machine
I'm sorry this is something that is interfering with your life. I have 5 grandkids and hug them any chance I get. We keep one of the kids all week long she is preschool. I can't even think about keeping a plastic shield between us. I hope things change and we all can get back to lives as we had known them.
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed 
Cervical Collar  
Mask Primer 
Dealing w DME
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: How to hug the Grandchildren in the Era of COVID - Use your CPAP Machine
Reuben, that's a sad situation, although very cleaver of you to find a way to hug those kids.

During this Covid crises, my grandkids have not been around other adults or other children. At ages 2 and 5, they never went back to daycare or pre k, and my husband and I don't go out much except to pick up grocery's and such. So we have no issue having them come over.