Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

How to make ASV BiPAP?
#1
How to make ASV BiPAP?
I want to turn my ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV into a BiPAP because I cannot seem to tolerate the ASV at default settings; I keep waking up at night more than 2 dozen times. I've never tried BiPAP.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: How to make ASV BiPAP?
The ASV machine IS a bilevel; it just uses a different algorithm than the VAuto.

You can't make it act like a VAuto; the best you can do is lower the PS as much as possible; say to 2 and 7.
Caveats: I'm just a patient, with no medical training. And my first experience with xPAP was fairly recent. So I'm somewhere along the path of a steep learning curve.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: How to make ASV BiPAP?
Okay thank you. I will try that.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: How to make ASV BiPAP?
As mentioned, the ASV is BiPAP as it has inhale and exhale pressures. You mention things are not working well on default. I'd ask why it's on default?

If you need help to set the ASV properly, just ask for help and supply an OSCAR chart and some complaint details. Include this in this thread. Also tell us what settings you are currently using. This should be Mode, EPAP Min/Max, and PS Min/Max if you're running ASVAuto mode.
Dave

OSCAR
Standard OSCAR Chart Order
Mask Primer
Dealing With A DME
Soft Cervical Collar Wiki
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: How to make ASV BiPAP?
Well it's not a Vauto because the minimum difference between PS min and PS max is 5.0 cm. That's the best we have. I fyou set PS min to 3.0, PS max can't be less than 8.0. Or, PS min at 0, PS max can be 5.0. Your machine is not physically different from a Vauto, but the firmware dictates what algorithm is available.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Idea Tell me how you've Modified your P10 to make it VENT more Hydrangea 16 372 5 hours ago
Last Post: Hydrangea
  [Equipment] Airsense 10 or Aircurve VAuto Bipap Freddy zz 8 149 09-21-2020, 07:12 PM
Last Post: staceyburke
  How can I make my treatment more effective? Neighborgeek 9 236 09-14-2020, 08:37 PM
Last Post: Neighborgeek
  Chest Tightness when I don’t use Bipap Drexette 1 112 09-06-2020, 08:21 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  BiPAP postop recovery deserttech25 3 2,450 09-06-2020, 11:38 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Do I need bipap? never had sleep study done steveairway 15 435 08-27-2020, 12:31 AM
Last Post: jaswilliams
  [Equipment] Please need some input regarding new PR auto bipap machine. Phaleronic 24 428 08-25-2020, 11:42 AM
Last Post: Phaleronic


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.