Post Reply 
[How to] move resscan files from one computer to another
Author Message
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,842
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #1
move resscan files from one computer to another
I was going to hang onto Windows XP. But, have decided to upgrade to a newer machine running Windows 7.

I know I can re-install ResScan -- but, how do I move my data over so that I don't lose my historical data?

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-01-2014 01:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
(05-01-2014 01:58 PM)justMongo Wrote:  I know I can re-install ResScan -- but, how do I move my data over so that I don't lose my historical data?
My son did it for me, I don,t know what he did or how but saw him removing the hard drive from the old computer and then transfer everything on the new computer
05-01-2014 02:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #3
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
Mongo,

I actually find Win 7 much more stable than XP was. As far as the files containing the data to be transferred, I am not sure. If you find out please let me know.

Sorry could not help more.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
05-01-2014 05:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,842
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #4
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
I've never had a BSOD on XP. That said, since MS isn't going to provide updates to XP, I have little choice if I wish to maintain a secure system.
I think I know how to drill down and grab the patient data files for ResScan. I guess the test will come when I install the SW on W7 then move the data files.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-01-2014 07:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
habskilla Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2014

Machine: Resmed S9 auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: Resmed H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: New Brunswick Canada

Post: #5
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
I don't have XP but you should be able to find it based on my Windows 8.1 example
C:\Users\Public\Documents\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\<patient name>

<patient name> = the patient name you open before you import your data.

Steps:
Find and save old <patient name> directory.
Download and install new ResScan to your new computer.
Open new ResScan and configure a new user.
Close new ResScan

Find new <patient name> directory.
Copy old <patient name> directory contents to new <patient name> directory.

Open new ResScan and check if you see your old data.
05-01-2014 08:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
Find the ResScan files on your computer (should be under My Documents) and copy them onto a USB drive or something. I would copy all of them, the entire folder structure.

Then when you reinstall everything on the new OS, you'll find the ResScan is now in "Documents > ResScan". Just copy everything into that. Save the files on the USB drive though, in case it doesn't work! It should, though.

The hardest thing with Win 7 to get used to, at least for me, is where the heckaroni it puts stuff. Bits of programs are scattered all over the place.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-01-2014 08:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,842
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #7
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
(05-01-2014 08:35 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Find the ResScan files on your computer (should be under My Documents) and copy them onto a USB drive or something. I would copy all of them, the entire folder structure.

Then when you reinstall everything on the new OS, you'll find the ResScan is now in "Documents > ResScan". Just copy everything into that. Save the files on the USB drive though, in case it doesn't work! It should, though.

The hardest thing with Win 7 to get used to, at least for me, is where the heckaroni it puts stuff. Bits of programs are scattered all over the place.

For XP, it puts my patient file in:
C:\Program Files\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\name\

I have found the same to be true of W7... it puts things all over the place; but somehow keeps track of it. Being a bit OCD, I like a little order to things.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-01-2014 11:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 409
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #8
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
The path used by ResScan for its data files will depend on the version of ResScan, the version of Windows, and the setup options selected while installing ResScan. I recently reformatted my Windows partition and reinstalled Windows 7. (I dual boot a Mac). I previously used ResScan version 3.16, which stored its data files in C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\<patient name>
I installed version 4.2 after reformatting. It stores its data files in C:\Users\Public\Documents\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\<patient name>

To find where ResScan stores its patient files, I created a dummy patient, and then searched the hard drive for it. Then, I restored a backup of my ResScan files into the same place. Then I was able to open it in ResScan as usual.

I was surprised to find that ResScan 3.16 stored its data in the VirtualStore, which was intended for backwards compatibility with legacy programs from the MS-DOS era. I believe it was trying to store its files in C:\Program Files\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\<patient name> but Windows 7 doesn't allow that.
(This post was last modified: 05-02-2014 12:14 AM by big_dave.)
05-02-2014 12:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #9
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
Thanks Paula, Mongo, and Dave I have been wondering about that. Have not gone on a real search until just now. Found it. Thanks again.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
05-02-2014 01:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JohnNJ Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 103
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet & ResMed Power Station II
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Wisp & ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i & ClimateLine (distilled / fresh daily)
CPAP Pressure: 9.4 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: First night - November 25, 2013

Sex: Male
Location: New Jersey, USA

Post: #10
RE: move resscan files from one computer to another
I have to do the same thing. How would it work for Sleepyhead data?
05-02-2014 01:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Move alot and getting mask leaks HELP christinaleigh 10 514 11-06-2016 03:15 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  Don;t move better nbrs jxyzobrien 1 235 09-03-2016 07:00 AM
Last Post: AlanE
  [CPAP] wireless viewing from cpap to computer sherryl10 10 771 08-24-2016 12:20 AM
Last Post: wubisnotanabbreviation
  ResScan Reports for AHI Differs From Machine AHI nadprok 2 284 08-02-2016 11:54 AM
Last Post: nadprok
  Problem with ResScan HL649 3 399 08-01-2016 01:50 AM
Last Post: srlevine1
  The X-files tmoody 14 1,021 05-06-2016 02:42 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Put Unlocked Chip Into Computer DonC 7 771 11-09-2015 01:13 PM
Last Post: DonC

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)