Post Reply 
How transfer Resscan data to new computer
Author Message
jcarerra Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 284
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Adapt SV
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: min/max EPAP 9/15 min/max PS 4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #11
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014 06:02 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Edit what?


Edit a previous post I made--it is the EDIT button right below the box were you read the post. You only have it on your own posts, not somebody else's.
(This post was last modified: 07-23-2014 06:36 PM by jcarerra.)
07-23-2014 06:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,007
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #12
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014 01:05 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  In Win 7, the data is found in the Library > Documents > ResMed > ResScan# > Patient folder. Just copy that over to wherever the heck it keeps it in Win 8. I don't think there will be any translation issues which is what I think Payton was thinking.

But be aware it can be a lot of data. I just checked and my nearly a year's worth from my Autoset is just under 750 meg. But at least it is just a crapload of files vs one big file and you can do it in chunks.

Paula,

On my Windows 7 Home Premium, I think the patient files are in the following subdirectory:

C:\>users>public>public documents>resmed>resscan3>patients>(My patient name)

The files are named 20140521.rlk. the 140521 is a date code

Best Regards,

PaytonA
07-23-2014 08:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,847
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #13
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014 08:41 PM)PaytonA Wrote:  
(07-23-2014 01:05 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  In Win 7, the data is found in the Library > Documents > ResMed > ResScan# > Patient folder. Just copy that over to wherever the heck it keeps it in Win 8. I don't think there will be any translation issues which is what I think Payton was thinking.

But be aware it can be a lot of data. I just checked and my nearly a year's worth from my Autoset is just under 750 meg. But at least it is just a crapload of files vs one big file and you can do it in chunks.

Paula,

On my Windows 7 Home Premium, I think the patient files are in the following subdirectory:

C:\>users>public>public documents>resmed>resscan3>patients>(My patient name)

The files are named 20140521.rlk. the 140521 is a date code

Best Regards,

PaytonA

Payton is correct.
C:\Users\Public\Documents\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\My Patient Name

It's in public documents because in a normal clinical environment, any user would have a logon with a password; and would need to access patient files.

Those rlk files get bigger and bigger with time. Plus, even those less than 4kB will use 4096 bytes on the disk as that's the smallest cluster size.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-23-2014 09:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #14
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
Yes, I know. I figured I didn't need to keep going after the Patients part. But it's good to get the full path for those that don't do the lazy way like me. Too-funny

As for editing your post, you only get to edit a post for a certain time period. Not sure how long that is. If the "edit" button is gone, I would assume then the time window has passed.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-24-2014 12:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jcarerra Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 284
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Adapt SV
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: min/max EPAP 9/15 min/max PS 4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #15
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014 01:05 PM)big_dave Wrote:  You just copy the data folder to the new computer. The trick is to find out where ResScan wants to store its patient data on the new computer. It may be a different spot from where the sample data is stored. Just create a dummy patient and search the hard drive. It may end up in a hidden folder, so you'll want to set Windows Explorer to show hidden files. Then, copy your data to the same spot and open it in ResScan as usual. See my previous posts for examples of where the patient data files may end up. It depends on the versions of ResScan and Windows, and the options selected while installing ResScan.

This did not work.
ResScan has folders in 3 locations
Program Files (x86)
Program Data
Documents

I Installed ResScan on the new computer, saved those folders and replaced them with copies of the corresponding folders from the computer where it currently works. ResScan starts fine and looks fine, but Open existing patient shows no name.

So I put the original clean install folders back in place and did a "file' 'Import.' That was fun because it does not tell you at all what it wants you to point to o do the import!

Nevertheless, I found a folder I could select that caused it to say "Import successful." But there was still no patient data there. It lied.

I am stymied as to how to get all my existing data into the new computer. If I download the SD card, all the flow data from days other than last week will be gone.
08-04-2014 05:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,847
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #16
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
I migrated ResScan from XP to W7. I drilled down until I found my patient name folder and copied it. I did a fresh install of ResScan -- created a new patient file with the same name. Then replaced the newly created one with my old patient name folder.

Frankly, I do not see the point of keeping the high rate data for more than 7 days. If you keep downloading the SD card several times per week, you soon have Gigabytes of data in the patient name folder. It's a real resource pig. I just pushed my patient name folder to my NAS; and then deleted about 130 RLK files from my computer disk.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-04-2014 05:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jcarerra Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 284
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Adapt SV
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: min/max EPAP 9/15 min/max PS 4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #17
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
OK, that is slightly different than what I did, so I will try that. I have a program Everything Search (wonderful) that "knows" every filename on the disk, and it's fast--so can look for my name to find the folder if I understand you correstly.

As to keeping the flow data, I think that is my choice. I have a big disk. And I still have therapy not working issues, so I want to be able to show ESPECIALLY flow data to my docs.
08-04-2014 06:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #18
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
It's easy to find your personal file in ResMed. Open the program and click on TOOLS > PATIENT MANAGER and the path will be right there on top of the page. Smile

Normally it's located at C:\Users\Public\Documents\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\, as has already been mentioned, but you are allowed to put it anywhere you like.

BTW, I use Everything Search too and wonder how I ever managed without it.
(This post was last modified: 08-04-2014 06:42 PM by surferdude2.)
08-04-2014 06:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jcarerra Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 284
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Adapt SV
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: min/max EPAP 9/15 min/max PS 4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #19
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
That worked!

The problem was that the critical stored stuff was under the Public user rather than under "me", so I missed those folders the first go-round. But it definitely was a good idea to create the patient before pulling in the data.

All is well--except I have to go adjust all of the graph locations and scales again.
08-04-2014 06:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,398 09-01-2016 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  [CPAP] wireless viewing from cpap to computer sherryl10 10 771 08-24-2016 12:20 AM
Last Post: wubisnotanabbreviation
  ResScan Reports for AHI Differs From Machine AHI nadprok 2 287 08-02-2016 11:54 AM
Last Post: nadprok
  Problem with ResScan HL649 3 400 08-01-2016 01:50 AM
Last Post: srlevine1
  Revised Post Regarding "I need help with SH data" - with data included! Jeffo1 3 592 05-16-2016 11:28 PM
Last Post: Jeffo1
  Put Unlocked Chip Into Computer DonC 7 775 11-09-2015 01:13 PM
Last Post: DonC
  Looking for ResScan Software ajimen05 5 1,755 09-28-2015 06:01 PM
Last Post: ginzo

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)