Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

How transfer Resscan data to new computer
#11
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014, 06:02 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote: Edit what?


Edit a previous post I made--it is the EDIT button right below the box were you read the post. You only have it on your own posts, not somebody else's.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#12
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014, 01:05 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote: In Win 7, the data is found in the Library > Documents > ResMed > ResScan# > Patient folder. Just copy that over to wherever the heck it keeps it in Win 8. I don't think there will be any translation issues which is what I think Payton was thinking.

But be aware it can be a lot of data. I just checked and my nearly a year's worth from my Autoset is just under 750 meg. But at least it is just a crapload of files vs one big file and you can do it in chunks.

Paula,

On my Windows 7 Home Premium, I think the patient files are in the following subdirectory:

C:\>users>public>public documents>resmed>resscan3>patients>(My patient name)

The files are named 20140521.rlk. the 140521 is a date code

Best Regards,

PaytonA

Admin Note:
PaytonA passed away in September 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014, 08:41 PM)PaytonA Wrote:
(07-23-2014, 01:05 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote: In Win 7, the data is found in the Library > Documents > ResMed > ResScan# > Patient folder. Just copy that over to wherever the heck it keeps it in Win 8. I don't think there will be any translation issues which is what I think Payton was thinking.

But be aware it can be a lot of data. I just checked and my nearly a year's worth from my Autoset is just under 750 meg. But at least it is just a crapload of files vs one big file and you can do it in chunks.

Paula,

On my Windows 7 Home Premium, I think the patient files are in the following subdirectory:

C:\>users>public>public documents>resmed>resscan3>patients>(My patient name)

The files are named 20140521.rlk. the 140521 is a date code

Best Regards,

PaytonA

Payton is correct.
C:\Users\Public\Documents\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\My Patient Name

It's in public documents because in a normal clinical environment, any user would have a logon with a password; and would need to access patient files.

Those rlk files get bigger and bigger with time. Plus, even those less than 4kB will use 4096 bytes on the disk as that's the smallest cluster size.


Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#14
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
Yes, I know. I figured I didn't need to keep going after the Patients part. But it's good to get the full path for those that don't do the lazy way like me. Too-funny

As for editing your post, you only get to edit a post for a certain time period. Not sure how long that is. If the "edit" button is gone, I would assume then the time window has passed.
PaulaO

Take a deep breath and count to zen.




Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#15
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(07-23-2014, 01:05 PM)big_dave Wrote: You just copy the data folder to the new computer. The trick is to find out where ResScan wants to store its patient data on the new computer. It may be a different spot from where the sample data is stored. Just create a dummy patient and search the hard drive. It may end up in a hidden folder, so you'll want to set Windows Explorer to show hidden files. Then, copy your data to the same spot and open it in ResScan as usual. See my previous posts for examples of where the patient data files may end up. It depends on the versions of ResScan and Windows, and the options selected while installing ResScan.

This did not work.
ResScan has folders in 3 locations
Program Files (x86)
Program Data
Documents

I Installed ResScan on the new computer, saved those folders and replaced them with copies of the corresponding folders from the computer where it currently works. ResScan starts fine and looks fine, but Open existing patient shows no name.

So I put the original clean install folders back in place and did a "file' 'Import.' That was fun because it does not tell you at all what it wants you to point to o do the import!

Nevertheless, I found a folder I could select that caused it to say "Import successful." But there was still no patient data there. It lied.

I am stymied as to how to get all my existing data into the new computer. If I download the SD card, all the flow data from days other than last week will be gone.
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
I migrated ResScan from XP to W7. I drilled down until I found my patient name folder and copied it. I did a fresh install of ResScan -- created a new patient file with the same name. Then replaced the newly created one with my old patient name folder.

Frankly, I do not see the point of keeping the high rate data for more than 7 days. If you keep downloading the SD card several times per week, you soon have Gigabytes of data in the patient name folder. It's a real resource pig. I just pushed my patient name folder to my NAS; and then deleted about 130 RLK files from my computer disk.
Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#17
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
OK, that is slightly different than what I did, so I will try that. I have a program Everything Search (wonderful) that "knows" every filename on the disk, and it's fast--so can look for my name to find the folder if I understand you correstly.

As to keeping the flow data, I think that is my choice. I have a big disk. And I still have therapy not working issues, so I want to be able to show ESPECIALLY flow data to my docs.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#18
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
It's easy to find your personal file in ResMed. Open the program and click on TOOLS > PATIENT MANAGER and the path will be right there on top of the page. Smile

Normally it's located at C:\Users\Public\Documents\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\, as has already been mentioned, but you are allowed to put it anywhere you like.

BTW, I use Everything Search too and wonder how I ever managed without it.
Post Reply Post Reply
#19
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
That worked!

The problem was that the critical stored stuff was under the Public user rather than under "me", so I missed those folders the first go-round. But it definitely was a good idea to create the patient before pulling in the data.

All is well--except I have to go adjust all of the graph locations and scales again.
Post Reply Post Reply
#20
RE: How transfer Resscan data to new computer
(08-04-2014, 06:40 PM)surferdude2 Wrote: It's easy to find your personal file in ResMed.  Open the program and click on TOOLS > PATIENT MANAGER and the path will be right there on top of the page.  Smile

Normally it's located at C:\Users\Public\Documents\ResMed\ResScan3\Patients\, as has already been mentioned,  but you are allowed to put it anywhere you like.

BTW, I use Everything Search too and wonder how I ever managed without it.

Thanks to this post. I moved my folder to dropbox and now I can use my ResScan on multiple PC.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  ResScan 5.9 and Mac Install Problem Amishboy51 3 199 03-21-2021, 02:34 PM
Last Post: Holgern
Question ResScan 5.9 N6JSX 2 320 02-20-2021, 05:30 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
Exclaimation ResScan 6.0 - removed from download site [now available - please read post #31] Bernard Bison 33 16,044 02-19-2021, 03:48 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  Combining data from 2 SD cards with overlapping data. SevereApnea 4 176 02-17-2021, 02:44 AM
Last Post: SevereApnea
  Oscar Error there is no data to graph summary data only u4ea 2 184 02-05-2021, 10:02 PM
Last Post: u4ea
  New computer - back to building OSCAR happydreams 12 288 01-28-2021, 11:15 AM
Last Post: happydreams
Question ResScan 5.9 don't run? Rewolf1 5 771 01-22-2021, 04:20 PM
Last Post: AlanE


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.