Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Humidifier
Question 
Humidifier
I've been using a CPAP machine for about 15 years.  About 10 years ago I stopped using the humidifier, based on the suggestion of another patient in an Apnea support group we had here for awhile.  Most of us are perfectly comfortable breathing ambient air, so what's the point of the humidifier?  Maybe it's a good thing in overheated hotel rooms during the Northern winter, but I live in Southern California.  I don't understand why the humidifier is thought important.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Humidifier
G'day johnedoner. Welcome to Apnea Board.

The humidifier is really a comfort feature. Most people find that non-humidified air (under pressure) dries the nasal passages and can cause dry throat or congestion. If you find that you don't need a humidifier that's fine - don't use it. It's one less complication for you to worry about.
Post Reply Post Reply
For my first 20 years of CPAP i never had or used a humidifier, and I couldn't understand why one was desirable. Fortunately for me, I got a new doctor in 2006, and he insisted that I get a humidifier kit for my old Respironics machine. Immediately, I was more comfortable, had much less nasal congestion and just felt better. But I recognize that humidifier use is a personal choice and not everyone will respond as well as I have. However, I will certainly never do without a humidifier on my machine. I currently use a DeVilbiss straight CPAP with the humidifier tray beneath the machine.

TheDuke
Post Reply Post Reply