Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

I'm New To This - Here is A Little Info on my sleep study results
I'm New To This - Here is A Little Info on my sleep study results
Hello All:

I am new to the world of sleep apnea.  I had my sleep study recently, and I was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea, and proscribed a Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP machine.  I will probably get everyone's thoughts on my treatment plan and using the CPAP in a separate post.  But for now, I just want to understand the gravity of my diagnosis of "severe sleep apnea."

My sleep doctor who performed the sleep study, so far, has only had his technician perform the sleep study and the technician called me back and said I have "severe sleep apnea."  I have not yet met with my actual sleep doctor.  My appointment is in a few weeks.  I asked for the actual sleep study results to try to get more info on the severity of my OSA.  The doctor's office only sent me a snippet of the sleep study, and my doctor's email to me which states the following:

You're sleep apnea is extremely severe. I copy/pasted more specific data below. CPAP is definitely the best way to treat it. You probably have gotten a Resmed CPAP which has an app you can download on your smartphone to track your nightly data. Once I see you we can try to get it synched to my account as well. The company that supplied it will also be tracking you 

Most people in your situation feel much better once treated with CPAP

Good luck!
AR

PHYSICIAN SUMMARY:
Analysis of ResMed ApneaLink Air HST recording revealed findings consistent with
severe obstructive sleep apnea, evidenced by an Apnea/hypopnea Index (AHI) of
57.4 per hour. Oxygen saturation was a baseline of 96%, with a low of 71%.