Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

I think my CPAP machine isn't working
#1
Angry 
Hi, I'm new to this machine - I've had it for 1 week now.
I found that it was a lot noisier than the original machine I used but I didn't want to take it back because I've waited 3 months for this
machine!
Last night the results were sad face and AHI of 0.1, the ramp is orange and the air pressure doesn't seem to increase - it stays on 4 and my air pressure is 11.5.
Do you think it's broken?

Desperate!Sad
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hello mazrose and welcome
See page 4, how to adjust RAMP http://www.resmed.com/au/assets/document...ac_eng.pdf

All explained in the clinical manual, available via Email, section three
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

S9 setup pictures and video http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

SleepyHead and ResScan software download
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-P...-and-Links

S9 data management guide http://www.resmed.com/au/assets/document...ow_eng.pdf

We want to see happy face and leak below 24 l/m
Press and hold both silver buttons for 3 sec and turn the push dial
The sleep report shows leak number, AHI, etc

Please note the above links are compulsory for S9 users
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(05-29-2014, 01:18 AM)mazrose Wrote: Do you think it's broken?
We don,t know if the noise coming from the motor or from leaks, mask leaks can be quite noisy and disruptive to your sleep

Good mask seal is essential for effective treatment, if you,re in US and have insurance, talk to your DME about 30 days masks trials and equipment replacement schedule, mask cushion do wear out and need replacing regularly and washing on a daily basis

What was and how long you had the 'original machine'?


Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi mazrose,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I hope you ar able to figure out the problem with your new machine.
Hang in there for more suggestions.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
When air is turned on the pressure will display in very small numbers at bottom of the screen.

If the big number in middle of the screen is "4.0", that is your humidity setting, not the pressure.

Frown = leaking Need to isolate where that leaking is going. An S-9 Elite should be as quiet (or likely more quiet) than anything you've had in the past (if you aren't leaking).

Where does the "noise" seem to come from on the machine ??
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Thanks for all your information!!!

I went back to my sleep clinic yesterday so that they could check it and everything is fine. I think I was just getting a bit paranoiac about
it.

Last night results were smiley face, AHI 0.4
I don't have a humidifier.
I'm not from USA - I didn't realise this forum was American based
but it's fine if I can get help as & when I need it.

Many thanks again.
I'll keep on perseveringBig Grin
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(05-30-2014, 03:10 PM)mazrose Wrote: Thanks for all your information!!!

I went back to my sleep clinic yesterday so that they could check it and everything is fine. I think I was just getting a bit paranoiac about
it.

Last night results were smiley face, AHI 0.4
I don't have a humidifier.
I'm not from USA - I didn't realise this forum was American based
but it's fine if I can get help as & when I need it.

Many thanks again.
I'll keep on perseveringBig Grin

Glad you got your machine figured out Maz,

About being USA based? Try not to hold it against us; we actually have many many members from as far away as Australia, New Zealand, Switzerland, Ireland, Texas,,,, We're just happy to have all of you here to help us figure all this stuff out.

Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(05-30-2014, 03:14 PM)retired_guy Wrote: we actually have many many members from as far away as Australia, New Zealand, Switzerland, Ireland, Texas,,,,
Who moved Texas, now you need a visa to go Texas Too-funny
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Zonk,

You always needed a visa to go to Texas. To Texans, the rest of us are from foreign countries. Too-funny

Admin Note:
PaytonA passed away in September 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
And AZ is still talking about leaving the nation. After all, we do our own border security.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 50 23,804 11-22-2017, 10:56 PM
Last Post: enlyghten
Information [Equipment] Inside View of a ResMed S9 CPAP Machine SuperSleeper 38 20,937 11-22-2017, 10:28 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Just got my first CPAP machine....YIKES!!! dumbusername 10 267 11-22-2017, 11:56 AM
Last Post: yrnkrn
  new cpap machine jamescox145 27 849 11-21-2017, 01:50 AM
Last Post: eddie willers
  [Pressure] After two hours CPAP machine is about to blow my mask offf jggdesigner 19 543 11-13-2017, 10:45 AM
Last Post: jggdesigner
  [CPAP] CPAP working but Still Exhausted BigT 8 306 11-11-2017, 06:30 PM
Last Post: BigT
  Is it Working? shinkdavid 20 1,054 11-04-2017, 12:43 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.