Post Reply 
Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
Author Message
Greenej Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Icon auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #1
Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
Hi folks. My Icon Auto died the other day. So I need a new machine. I've had the Icon Auto since it first came out and have been fairly happy it. But I thought I'd check around before replacing it. Has anyone gone from an Icon Auto to an AirSense 10? Are you happy with it? One of my complaints with the Icon Auto is it runs out of water in about 5-6 hours. The AirSense 10 has a smaller reservoir. Does it run dry during the night? Also can I just look at the machine to tell my nightly numbers? I see comments about software and computers. With my Icon I just turn the dial and it has my AHI and such. Does the AirSense10 have the same or do I have to get on the computer to check?

Jk
02-28-2016 11:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Rousseau21 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: HumidAir with ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 8 to 15 cm H²O with EPR at 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnose with OSA moderate-high. CPAP user since January 2016.

Sex: Male
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post: #2
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
(02-28-2016 11:43 PM)Greenej Wrote:  Hi folks. My Icon Auto died the other day. So I need a new machine. I've had the Icon Auto since it first came out and have been fairly happy it. But I thought I'd check around before replacing it. Has anyone gone from an Icon Auto to an AirSense 10? Are you happy with it? One of my complaints with the Icon Auto is it runs out of water in about 5-6 hours. The AirSense 10 has a smaller reservoir. Does it run dry during the night? Also can I just look at the machine to tell my nightly numbers? I see comments about software and computers. With my Icon I just turn the dial and it has my AHI and such. Does the AirSense10 have the same or do I have to get on the computer to check?

Jk

Hello greenej,

The resmed airsense 10 autoset will provide you some numbers and informations directly on it's control screen in the sleep report option.

It will give you your using time last night, you AHI for last night. It will show you a happy or froom face to show if your humidifier worked correctly and another icon to tell you if you had to many large leaks.

Also it can provide you more information for a certain period of time.

Those informations help but the use of a software like SleepyHead will provide you more useful informations that will help you for your therapy.

On my side I just take the SD card from the machine and use a SD card reader to transfer my data in my computer and I can analyse more my data Big Grin
02-29-2016 07:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,424
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
Hi Greenej,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more answers to your questions.
Much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy and good luck to you on your machine decision.

trish6hundred
02-29-2016 10:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 470
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #4
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
The amount of water used by the humidifier in the A10 is a function of the humidity in your room. The more arid your room the more water will be used and vice versa. When I started with the A10 i filled the reservoir full and watched what happened for a week or so. I live in a fairly humid area and I rarely use up to the first fill line in a night. I rarely fill it half way. YMMV.

Coffee
02-29-2016 05:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Santa Barbara Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: AirSense 10 for Her
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: SleepWeaver élan
Humidifier: AirSense
CPAP Pressure: 7 to 10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Santa Barbara

Post: #5
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
(02-28-2016 11:43 PM)Greenej Wrote:  Hi folks. My Icon Auto died the other day. So I need a new machine. I've had the Icon Auto since it first came out and have been fairly happy it. But I thought I'd check around before replacing it. Has anyone gone from an Icon Auto to an AirSense 10? Are you happy with it? One of my complaints with the Icon Auto is it runs out of water in about 5-6 hours. The AirSense 10 has a smaller reservoir. Does it run dry during the night? Also can I just look at the machine to tell my nightly numbers? I see comments about software and computers. With my Icon I just turn the dial and it has my AHI and such. Does the AirSense10 have the same or do I have to get on the computer to check?

Jk
Hi Greenji,
The AirSense 10 humidifier holds 1 1/2 cups, that is 12 ounces of water. I have never used more than half a reservoir full per night here in dry-ish Santa Barbara.
To get your ahi number you have to hold two buttons for a second and get into the clinition's menu. It is a bit of an annoying bother.
Sleepyhead software is not trivial to set up and understand, but the information it sets out is amazing with the AirSense using the SD card and Windows. (No way to use an iPad
that I can see).
02-29-2016 06:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #6
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
(02-29-2016 06:47 PM)Santa Barbara Wrote:  To get your ahi number you have to hold two buttons for a second and get into the clinition's menu.

You only have to do that once. While in the clinician menu turn the dial to get to "essentials" and change it to "plus". From then on so long as you don't change that setting the AHI will show up on the top of the screen every morning.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
02-29-2016 09:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Santa Barbara Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: AirSense 10 for Her
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: SleepWeaver élan
Humidifier: AirSense
CPAP Pressure: 7 to 10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Santa Barbara

Post: #7
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
r
(02-29-2016 09:41 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  
(02-29-2016 06:47 PM)Santa Barbara Wrote:  To get your ahi number you have to hold two buttons for a second and get into the clinition's menu.

You only have to do that once. While in the clinician menu turn the dial to get to "essentials" and change it to "plus". From then on so long as you don't change that setting the AHI will show up on the top of the screen every morning.

Thank you so very much! I have set "essentials" to "plus" and every morning the ahi checking ritual will be a little easier. Really appreciate your reply.
03-01-2016 12:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #8
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
(03-01-2016 12:48 AM)Santa Barbara Wrote:  
(02-29-2016 09:41 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:  You only have to do that once.
Thank you so very much! I have set "essentials" to "plus" and every morning the ahi checking ritual will be a little easier. Really appreciate your reply.

Glad to help, but please stop messing with the fonts! If you prefer different ones than the site default (which is whatever font the user prefers) set them that way with your browser. Please don't impose them on others.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
03-01-2016 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Greenej Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Icon auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #9
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
So I thought I'd follow up with what I found. I did purchase an AirSense 10 ( ladies version ). It is quieter than the icon auto. But double the price. I also purchased the heated w/humidity assist hose. I have everything on auto. The water chamber does not run dry but I end up with a dry mouth and throat the way I would when the icon ran out. I'm staying with the auto settings a few days then I'll play with the humidity. The mask fit test does not work. I pulled the mask far enough off that it was free flow and it didn't report failure until I took it all the way off. I am sleeping but I can't say better or worse because I've been without a cpap for several days.

The other thing I'm keeping an eye on.. The sleep results numbers are completely different than what I saw with the icon. My pressure is fairly low range. 4 - 13. The normal spot for me is 5. With the Icon it was rare to go above 10 and when I did I woke up. The AirSense is saying I'm running at 12.5. The AHI is around 4 with the AirSense and it was 0.3 with the Icon. (Non-allergy season) I've been a cpap user for years. It's not the mask. I know what an ill fitting mask behaves like. Im going to go get a pillow wedge and add it to my ramp of pillows and see if that improves it.

Now the Icon was fairly old ( got it when they first came out ). It's possible it was going nuts and was not reporting correctly. The spouse says I did not toss or turn or startle awake as much as with the icon. I will say I like the quiet. The icon was loud enough I could not hear the kids crying, the door opening, the child gate rattling or the stairs creaking ( can you tell the kids try to sneak downstairs ). I've always been afraid the fire alarm will go off and I won't hear it. The AirSense is quiet enough I can hear all of those. Thought I'd follow up for anyone else who might be considering making the switch.
03-08-2016 07:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Greenej Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Icon auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: Unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #10
RE: Icon auto to AirSense 10 experience ?
I thought I'd reply with one last post for this thread. The AirSense is being returned. I ordered a new Icon Auto and it arrived yesterday. I forgot how wonderful a good nights sleep is. The AirSense blew too hard too much. It was running the pressure at the highest setting in the range. It's not the mask as I use the same mask for both. For me the Icon just seems to be a better choice.
03-24-2016 10:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 25 2,187 Today 11:02 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 504 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 467 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 369 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Icon+ Won't Write to USB Arend 2 180 11-05-2016 02:32 AM
Last Post: PsychoMike
  [CPAP] AirSense 10 Auto Set Pressure duffer54 5 303 11-03-2016 09:06 PM
Last Post: duffer54
  1st night on new Airsense 10 for her Beej 7 463 11-02-2016 06:08 PM
Last Post: Beej

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)