Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Inconsistent AHIs... Still adjusting?
#1
Question 
I downloaded the EncorePro software for my DreamStation yesterday as well as my 8 nights of data. My AHI ranges from 2.7 - 4.8. I know the goal is to keep it below 5, but I see people with 0 - 1 AHIs. I've been satisfied with my DreamWear mask; no, it's not perfect, but there's nothing covering my face, and no hose in my face, so it makes the night smoother for me, or at least I feel like it does. With that said, that's the only mask I've purchased and used since my sleep study. I'm wondering if I keep going as I am, with the DreamWear and accept the inconsistent AHIs, or do I start looking for another mask to hopefully satisfy me and provide lower and consistent AHIs?

As always, thank you all in advance for your input!
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
(04-03-2016, 08:40 AM)kyhmm72 Wrote: I downloaded the EncorePro software for my DreamStation yesterday as well as my 8 nights of data. My AHI ranges from 2.7 - 4.8. I know the goal is to keep it below 5, but I see people with 0 - 1 AHIs. I've been satisfied with my DreamWear mask; no, it's not perfect, but there's nothing covering my face, and no hose in my face, so it makes the night smoother for me, or at least I feel like it does. With that said, that's the only mask I've purchased and used since my sleep study. I'm wondering if I keep going as I am, with the DreamWear and accept the inconsistent AHIs, or do I start looking for another mask to hopefully satisfy me and provide lower and consistent AHIs?

As always, thank you all in advance for your input!


Hi kyhmm72
It is normal to see the AHI change from day to day. You are still early in the game, so give it some time.

Sleepyhead software now supports the DreamStation. You will be able to see more with this software than Encore Pro, plus easier to use. See Sleepyhead link top of page. This way you can post some screenshots and someone can take a look to
see what is going on.

My AHI can range anywhere from .3 to just under 2. I am still considered treated, but I know if I reach an AHI of 2, I need to look at my data. Everyone is different, and there are a lot of things that affect our sleep from night to night. Try to keep a consistant bed time schedule, and sleep hygiene is important. Plus no caffeine before bed, and for me, I don't eat after dinner. Meds also affect our readings.

If you like your mask, stick with it. How is your leak rate?
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your SleepyHead Charts
Using Attachments to Post ScreenShots and Images.
Machine choices

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
How do I insert a screenshot?
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
Screenshots are taken in Sleepyhead by touching the F12 key. These tutorials explain how to organize data and post a screenshot.
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ganization
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...pnea_Board
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
And, there's Paula's how to:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-How-to-HOW-DO-I

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#6
I have no advice for you, just an assurance that you are not alone. In the last week my AHI has been as low as 1.1 and last night was 6.2. Yawn, where is the coffee again? I think this is likely due to three factors: poor sleep hygiene, taking or not taking sleep medications, and drinking alcohol too close to bedtime. I have not isolated it yet.

Before starting CPAP drinking before bed never seemed to affect me, either way I woke up feeling terrible. Now I notice. Last night I decided to stay up late as I was not sleepy and do some reading over a few whiskies. Today I am paying for that.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
(04-03-2016, 12:21 PM)chill Wrote: Last night I decided to stay up late as I was not sleepy and do some reading over a few whiskies. Today I am paying for that.

Well, and pay you should, Whisky - yuk!, you should drink home made Mead - ah, now that is a drink made for sipping and reading Smile
I am not a Medical professional and I don't play one on the internet.
Started CPAP Therapy April 5, 2016
I'd Rather Be Sleeping
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Let's see if this works...

[Image: upXWzAOl.png]

If this is helpful to anyone, please let me know what you understand from it. Thanks in advance!!

~Helen
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Good job on your screenshot.

I don't see anything to be concerned with, but if you want to tame the Hypopneas, FL, and Snores, you may want to move your start pressure up to 8cm. A start pressure of 6 is a little too far from your 90% number. The 90% number means you were at that pressure and below for 90% of the night.

Clear airways are not a problem. You could bring your max pressure down to 15 or leave it where it is for now.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your SleepyHead Charts
Using Attachments to Post ScreenShots and Images.
Machine choices

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#10
(04-03-2016, 02:58 PM)OpalRose Wrote: Good job on your screenshot.

I don't see anything to be concerned with, but if you want to tame the Hypopneas, FL, and Snores, you may want to move your start pressure up to 8cm. A start pressure of 6 is a little too far from your 90% number. The 90% number means you were at that pressure and below for 90% of the night.

Clear airways are not a problem. You could bring your max pressure down to 15 or leave it where it is for now.

Thank you thank you thank you!! I know I can physically change the settings on the machine, but should I do that or wait until I see the sleep specialist on the 28th for follow-up? Also, I will be getting a new machine next week probably. I am supposed to have the Auto adjusting machine and they were out of them, so the one I have is auto for up to 30 days, and then must be a set pressure.

I really really really appreciate you taking a look at that for me!! I just don't know yet what I'm looking at. And I want to be as informed as possible about my therapy, and not just take doctors' words for it. Thanks

Oh yeah, how do I know what my 90% is??
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question How to tell if my CPAP is reporting correct AHIs? DrMike 11 315 09-15-2018, 08:48 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Resmed S9 Autoset not adjusting to altitude mfscott 3 185 07-22-2018, 03:24 PM
Last Post: jaswilliams
  Need help adjusting pressure dozydave 3 200 07-01-2018, 03:38 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla
  Have you gotten your AHIs down to zero? MrZennie 10 436 07-01-2018, 09:20 AM
Last Post: JesseLee
  AHIs all over Mttnkatt 4 270 05-22-2018, 01:14 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla
  Adjusting the Resmed f20 Airtouch? NewUserOK 1 302 05-06-2018, 05:39 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  Compliance & BiPAP Pressure Adjusting kbear 4 288 04-27-2018, 08:26 PM
Last Post: kbear

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.