Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Info on APAP please
#1
My last unit was a CPAP and my number is 13. I now have an S9 Elite APAP. On my minimum pressure I put 13, and on my maximum pressure what should I put? Right now I have max set at 20. This is my first APAP...am I doing it right?

Appreciate any answers
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
You should bracket 13 cm-H2O. Suggest you set min pressure to 11 cm-H2O; then set max pressure to perhaps 16 cm-H2O.
You also need to select an EPR level. If you know what is was on your CPAP, then use it. Else, start with ERP=1.

The S9 Elite is data capable; you can fine tune from there. If you keep slapping against the max pressure, you can increase it.
If 11 cm-H2O increases your AHI, then it might need to be raise. Follow with ResScan to see how you're doing.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(02-10-2016, 06:57 PM)Ernie47 Wrote: My last unit was a CPAP and my number is 13. I now have an S9 Elite APAP. On my minimum pressure I put 13, and on my maximum pressure what should I put? Right now I have max set at 20. This is my first APAP...am I doing it right?

Appreciate any answers

Personally, I'd set 11/15 in auto mode and see what shows up in the data after a week. The max pressure shouldn't matter as the machine usually won't go higher than needed unless you have some chronic airway resistance. I think that's what Just Mongo just said, and I agree.
______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi Ernie47,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
The s9 Elite is a fixed pressure system, not an APAP. The APAP you can set a range of pressures but the S9 Elite is a fixed pressure machine. It does have EPR on it, and is a fully data-capable machine,.
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Ernie, as Trish wrote, the S9 Elite is a fixed pressure machine (CPAP), while the
S9 Autoset is an APAP machine. CPAP refers to (one) constant pressure, while APAP refers to a machine that automatically adjusts to a range of pressures, and the range can be set and changed by a person.

David
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  APAP Prescribed for Central Sleep Apnea? NeverRested 14 391 02-25-2017, 05:23 PM
Last Post: mymontreal
Information Newbie APAP Equipment Trial Journal Snoopy.pa30 12 432 02-25-2017, 10:41 AM
Last Post: Snoopy.pa30
Wink Recently started APAP, best decision for my health I've ever made. Moonlight Graham 12 297 02-25-2017, 10:27 AM
Last Post: Moonlight Graham
Wink Recently started APAP, best decision for my health I've ever made. Moonlight Graham 4 126 02-24-2017, 02:12 PM
Last Post: Moonlight Graham
  New APAP Decisions to be made Snoopy.pa30 14 431 02-09-2017, 09:49 AM
Last Post: Snoopy.pa30
Gross Transition from CPAP to APAP Marsinah 4 243 02-04-2017, 04:41 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  cpap and apap not effictive Ezil71 125 4,987 02-03-2017, 02:57 PM
Last Post: PaytonA

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.