Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Interpreting Lung Function Test Report
Interpreting Lung Function Test Report
My wife had a lung function test few days ago, is anybody can help me interpreting the report please!
My wife is 67 years old, weight 39kg and 1.47cm tall, with syringomyelia and scoliosis.
She is only a small person!
[attachment=12345]
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Interpreting Lung Function Test Report
Note: I am not an expert or medical professional. But I have done multiple PFTs and have scoliosis myself.

It seems that they weren't able to get much reliable data at all. You can see at the bottom they infer it's because the patient couldn't perform the tests as instructed. They are not easy - breathe in, hold a breathe, breathe in on top of that breath, blow out as hard as you can, etc,. It's a full workout. 

It's just as likely, if not more so, that the technician didn't give clear enough instructions or was not motivating enough - you REALLY have to breathe in and blow hard into the tube to get worthwhile results. The technician is basically supposed to be your personal trainer and get you to do your best so that they have good data. The good ones are loud and very motivating, and give clear and encouraging instruction. They are simply making interpretations on a weak effort test, but it's the only test run that led to recordable results.