Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Intro
Intro
Another newbie here. I had my sleep study back in Dec of 2013. I did the initial sleep study follow by the titration a week later. Due to the holidays I wasn't able to make a followup appointment until the end of January 2014. Due to my wife having back surgery around that time, the appointment fell off my radar and due to my own procrastination, I didn't make another followup.

1 1/2 years later my PCP, wife and ex-wife are on my case that I need to get my sleep in order, so I am following up like I should have a long time ago.

I've had trouble for quite a few years, but mostly blamed it on allergies. I joke around saying "If it's green and produces pollen, I'm allergic to it". My friends joke that I can fall asleep at the drop of a hat and I have often fallen asleep leaning against a wall waiting for someone. I have caught myself in that twilight area between sleep and fully awake, wondering what the loud buzz-saw noise was before realizing it was me snoring. So I was relived to find out that I have sleep apnea and there is something I can do about it. Now I need to actually do it. Cool

My study results were an AHI of 45 with an RDI of 47.5. The AHI was a mean of 9 apnea events to 36 hypopnea events per hour. The mean apnea/hypopnea length was 22.6 seconds with the longest being 57.3 seconds. This makes me wonder what the mean length is for those who have an AHI above 100?

My oxygen was at 90% or above 85% of the time, 88% or lower for 9.5% of the time with a low of 77%. Math tells me that I was at 89% for 5% of the time. :-)