Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Is mouth leak tricking my AHI ?
Is mouth leak tricking my AHI ?
Hi
I've been using my CPAP for about 2 months and i get a AHI between 1-2 and feel happy about that.
But could a mouth leak trick my AHI results ? I read somewhere that if you have many flat tops in the Leak rate diagram i could mean just that.
I use a Dreamwear nasal mask.

Regards

/per
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Is mouth leak tricking my AHI ?
Your machine can accommodate a leak up to 24 L/min. If your leak is over 24 the machine can't generate sufficient airflow and can't effectively diagnose or treat your apneas and hypopneas. So the question is: How bad is the leak, and for how long does it occur?
Post Reply Post Reply
Yes, the flat topped leak typically means mouth leaks. During a large leak, the machine cannot keep up and the "echos" from the air pulses are not read correctly. It can report either a too high (reads false ones) or too low (cannot detect events).
PaulaO

Take a deep breath and count to zen.

Post Reply Post Reply
As PaulaO2 noted, when their are large leaks, the APAP can't tell if you are having central or obstructive apneas. An APAP does not treat central apneas, so if it can't tell one from another it can't tell if it should up your pressure in response to an event, so it doesn't and you don't get the adjustment to treatment pressure you need.
Post Reply Post Reply
(09-14-2018, 02:12 AM)Djabag Wrote: I read somewhere that if you have many flat tops in the Leak rate diagram i could mean just that.

It's worth investigating. Can you post leak rate graph for us to look at?
Sleepster