Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Is my auto pressure working?
#1
Is my auto pressure working?
I have a new resmed airsense 10 auto,been using it about 2 weeks,it came with a setting of 7 ,not getting any results,so changed to auto 7-14,last nite was first nite at this pressure,I detected no change in pressure,how do I tell if the auto pressure is working,thanks.Using p10 nasal mask,per at 3,sleep on my back.Initial diagnose severe with 40 ahi

I sleep on my back and avg ahi for two weeks is around 15,thanks
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Is my auto working
Your machines display should give some basic information, like AHI, hours used, 90% pressure reading. (This would be the pressure you were at and under for 90% of the night.)

The best thing would be to download the free SleepyHead software.  This will show you almost everything you need to know.  Graphs that show every breath you take, and a pressure graph that shows where the pressure was at any given time.  You will definitely be able to see if your pressure changes.  

With everything that SleepyHead shows, you will also be able to determine (with our help if you want) if your pressure needs tweaked.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com

OSCAR Chart Organization


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE.  ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.  INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
I can find ahi and usage but nothing on 90% also how do I get the information from my unit to sleepyhead?
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
post the numbers the machine is showing
read the sleepyhead link, it really is quite easy to use.
you need a sd card in your machine, these are the common ones that were used in cameras etc, you should have one around the house somewhere.
you then post a chart on the site and others will help you see what's needed.

till then, change your setting to 7 - 20 and see what treating pressure it shows.
mask fit http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ask_Primer
For auto-cpap, from machine data or software. You can set the min pressure 1 or 2cm below 95%. Or clinicians commonly use the maximum or 95% pressure for fixed pressure CPAP, this can also be used for min pressure.
https://aasm.org/resources/practiceparam...rating.pdf
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
Here's what I found,pressure 7.3,leak 2L min,ahi 11.6,total ai 10.8,central ai 8.0
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
(07-15-2017, 03:35 PM)12gauge Wrote: I can find ahi and usage but nothing on 90% also how do I get the information from my unit to sleepyhead?

You need to take the SD card out of the machine and put it in the computer with SleepyHead installed. If you don't have an SD card in your machine, they don't always come with one installed, buy a standard SD card at Walmart or where-ever for about $8, you will not have detailed data until you use it with an SD card in the machine.

Dave
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
ok, you need to get a copy of your sleep study, to see if there was high CA on the study. If it was ok then, you are getting 'new user' pressure induced CA. Turn off the flex if you have it on. It normally helps a bit. The CA will settle down for most people within 12 weeks.

 leave your setting as they are. 7.3 is what the machine thinks you need for the OA/H part of your apnea.

We can use the machine data.  8 ca an hour isn't that bad for now.
mask fit http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ask_Primer
For auto-cpap, from machine data or software. You can set the min pressure 1 or 2cm below 95%. Or clinicians commonly use the maximum or 95% pressure for fixed pressure CPAP, this can also be used for min pressure.
https://aasm.org/resources/practiceparam...rating.pdf
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
Ok,let's back up a bit,I'm not understanding a lot of what your telling me.First are u telling me to turn off auto adj on pressure?What is ca?What is new user induced ca?How does the machine think it knows what I need,when it was set by dme?Is it going by the one night autosetting?what about the exhale setting,it's at 3.0,thanks for responding but I'm old (72) and not real computer literate
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
CA - Central Apnea
pressure induced CA - Central Apnea events that are triggered by the use of a CPAP machine. It happens to a lot of new users and almost always goes away.

If your machine was set by DME at 7, then that is in CPAP mode. Same pressure no matter what.
The numbers you gave says this:
Quote:Here's what I found,pressure 7.3,leak 2L min,ahi 11.6,total ai 10.8,central ai 8.0
pressure 7.3 - when set to autoPAP, the machine detects when you are having an event and increases the pressure to compensate. Think of it like cruise control on a car. Flat road, cruise doesn't push the gas for you. Start going up a hill, cruise will increase the gas.

Leak 2L - masks are designed to leak on purpose from the vents on the front. This keeps you from inhaling what you just breathed out. This is called Intentional Leak. But sometimes a mask comes loose, your mouth opens, or whatever and air escapes. This is called Unintentional Leak. The machine can compensate for Unintentional Leaks up to a point then it is just blowing air into the room and you are not getting any benefit. You want to keep the Leak rate down and you did! Congrats.

AHI 11.6 - AHI is Apnea Hypopnea Index. It takes all the events you had while you slept and adds them together. Then it takes the time the machine was on and divides that into the events. Your goal is to have an AHI of less than 5 each night.

AI is the Apnea Index (just the apnea events, both obstructive and central)
HI is the Hypopnea Index (just the shallow breathing events)
CI is the Central Index (just the Central apnea events)
OI is the Obstructive Index (just the obstructive apnea events)

The data you gave us says you had an AI of 10.8. That means you had an HI of 0.8 and that's good. Of that 10.8, 8 of it was Central events. Which means 2.8 of them were Obstructive events. If we assume the CA is pressure induced, then you only have an AHI of 3.6 and that is fantastic. Remember, any number less than 5 is good. Once you get settled, you can tweak to get lower, but lets get you figured out first.

But this is just a snapshot of one night using numbers only. We don't look at just one night for much. Too many things go into a night's sleep to make one night's data worthy by itself. We look at trends.

What I suggest is this:
- Read the manual for your machine. If you do not have one, you can request it here on this forum
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual
- Using the manual, find out if your machine has a SD card already in it. If it does, good. If not, go get one. Walmart carries them even.
- Download and install SleepyHead. Many of those who have answered in this post have links to how to get it and use it.
- Use your machine with its current settings for about 7 days, perhaps 10. Then use SleepyHead to view the data. It will have graphs, numbers, charts, all sorts of information for you.
- Check out the Wiki we have. Especially the page with the Acronyms and Abbreviations.
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php?title=Acronyms
PaulaO

Take a deep breath and count to zen.




Post Reply Post Reply
#10
RE: Is my auto pressure working?
Thank you paula,that's a lot to take in,but I'll read it several times.And hit the internet some more,hopefully get sleepy fired up,thanks again to all who replied.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  New REsmed was working then not? Help? tierdal 8 192 04-05-2021, 01:51 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  New User - not sure it's working for me BradT 10 291 02-23-2021, 04:06 PM
Last Post: BradT
  [Pressure] Increase air pressure Sandman Auto HC (How to...) Davidme 4 229 12-29-2020, 12:31 PM
Last Post: Davidme
  Resmed bilevel working well (low AHI) but still needing many hours of sleep AlgebraicMisery 6 341 12-23-2020, 11:07 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  humidifier working when set to zero? Benzi 4 327 11-29-2020, 03:19 PM
Last Post: mesenteria
  SD card not working on my ResMed AirCurve 10 Dandur805 12 500 10-17-2020, 02:09 PM
Last Post: jaswilliams
  [Equipment] Humidifier not working bayrunner 1 258 09-30-2020, 09:45 AM
Last Post: Sleepster


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.