Post Reply 
Is the S9 Vipap like Autoset ?
Author Message
dangar Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Resmart
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmart
Humidifier: Resmart
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Is the S9 Vipap like Autoset ?
Someone is selling me A Resmed Vpap Auto and I am confused if it works like the S9 Autoset , automatically changing the settings.
Thank you.
06-18-2013 02:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,970
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #2
RE: Is the S9 Vipap like Autoset ?
(06-18-2013 02:01 PM)dangar Wrote:  Someone is selling me A Resmed Vpap Auto and I am confused if it works like the S9 Autoset , automatically changing the settings.
Thank you.

If it's an S9 VPAP Auto, it's a great machine that will do most everything that the S9 AutoSet will do, plus more. You can even set it up to mimic what an S9 AutoSet will do or a straight S9 Elite CPAP (one pressure only).

If it's the older VPAP Auto (not S9 unit), or the VPAP Auto 25, then it will still do most of what the S9 AutoSet will do, but it's older technology that may not work as well on the auto settings as the newer S9 machines which have an updated and more effective algorithm to adjust pressures.

Hope this helps! Smile

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

06-18-2013 04:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
dangar Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Resmart
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmart
Humidifier: Resmart
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Is the S9 Vipap like Autoset ?
Thank you immensely.
06-18-2013 04:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: Is the S9 Vipap like Autoset ?
My understanding is that the S9 VPAP Auto won't do exactly the same things the S9 AutoSet will do. In particular, I think it won't do auto pressure without bilevel.

For most people, it will either work as well as or better than the AutoSet, but it won't do all the same things the AutoSet will do in exactly the same way. Of course, the VPAP Auto will do some things the AutoSet won't.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-18-2013 07:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,970
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #5
RE: Is the S9 Vipap like Autoset ?
(06-18-2013 07:45 PM)archangle Wrote:  My understanding is that the S9 VPAP Auto won't do exactly the same things the S9 AutoSet will do. In particular, I think it won't do auto pressure without bilevel.

I'm probably missing something, but if (for example) you set up a S9 VPAP Auto to operate within the min and max pressures of 10-20, then set pressure support at 3, and set it for auto mode, wouldn't that be very similar to an S9 AutoSet with pressure ranges set for 10-20 with A-flex set to 3?

Thanks for any insight you can offer on this, Arch. Maybe I'm not thinking correctly on this. Thinking-about

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

06-18-2013 11:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  airsense 10 autoset or resmed S9 autoset sleepybeaver 18 6,115 05-30-2015 07:38 PM
Last Post: zonk

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)