Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Dry cough - caused by CPAP?
Dry cough - caused by CPAP?
Hi - I've been using my Philips Dreamstation APAP for almost 11 months now and am very happy with the results (much less daytime sleepiness).  But - the last couple months I can't seem to shake a middle of the night dry cough.  I live in Utah  (pretty dry) but use the humidifier on the machine all the time.   I don't have any cough during the day.    Any suggestions on what to do?    Thank you!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Dry cough - caused by CPAP?
May not be from CPAP. It is spring; so, it's allergy season.
Since you are in Utah, maybe the humidifier just isn't enough for low humidity room air.
You might give some though to a room humidifier.

Plus, do you by chance take a med known as an ACE inhibitor. Some people develop a dry cough when taking ACE inhibitors.
ACE inhibitors are primarily for high blood pressure.
Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
(04-21-2017, 10:54 AM)justMongo Wrote: "Plus, do you by chance take a med known as an ACE inhibitor.  Some people develop a dry cough when taking ACE inhibitors.
ACE inhibitors are primarily for high blood pressure."

Thanks for your response.  I don't take an ACE inhibitor, but trying to turn up the humidity setting on my machine sounds like a good idea.   I'll look into that.
Post Reply Post Reply