Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Just getting into this . . .
Just getting into this . . .
Hello to his forum.  
Though I am a “newbie” here, I have been a CPAP user since somewhere in the early nineties.  I am also a mild narcoleptic and have been using Provigil for over 20 years.  I have been using a Resmed S9 for over five years, until the humidifier failed.  I had a new sleep study done in the last month that revealed I have “Moderately severe” complex sleep apnea.  During that first study, both CPAP and BIPAP titration was tried, but un-successful and could not get the AHI lower than 10.7.  The following week, I had a second titration study using ASV.  That titration session was deemed successful and my insurance approved the doctor’s findings and recommendation for the Resmed Aircurve 10 ASV.  I was advised by my DME and pulmonologist that there is a “acclimation” curve with an ASV and to be patient.  My first night, April 18th was a bit brutal and I had an AHI of 5.7.  I have now got it down to below 1 most nights and actually find it comforting when it takes over and “breathes” for me.  I have had good success getting used to and adjusting my Respironics DreamWare (hybrid) mask and have been able to minimize air-leaks; I also purchased a side sleeper topper for my bed and also obtained a CPAP pillow – per recommendations from this forum.  I’ve made subtle adjustments for water temp and have eliminated the ramp.