Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit p10
Humidifier: integrated with machine
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: struggling...but working on it

Sex: Female

Question Leaks
Hi! I am trying to assess my leaks and determine if I need to try a different mask. It looks like I am leaking somewhat most of the time. I just can't decide how big a problem this is. Any interpretation from the experts would help. This is my first time tryimg to upload an image. Fingers crossed.
03-20-2016 08:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male

RE: Leaks
If you are not wearing a chin strap, try one. If you are, try a full face mask such as the Simplus.

You need to look at your daily leak rate graphs. If you see extended periods of time where you are in large leak, that's an indication of mouth-leaking, which I suspect is your problem. The typical remedy is a chin strap, and if that doesn't work a full face mask. Extended periods of large leak leave you without effective therapy or reliable data.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-20-2016 10:17 AM
ginzo Offline

Advisory Members

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Make & Model: Res Med Airfit P-10
Humidifier: Humidair S with heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 10.0-13.0