Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Leaks (Too high?)
Leaks (Too high?)
Hi helpful forum members, I've been using my machine for 3 months now and am trying to be extra conscientious since my doctor told me I am 'very severe'' (AHI 57). I'm having a little problem with my leaks, but don't know if I should be alarmed or not. I'm not sure why my leaks have gotten worse - I just got a new hose and new 'pillows.' But mainly, I'm just wondering if it's even something I should be worrying about. I use MyAir (ResMed) to monitor my progress with the nasal pillows and chinstrap. (I tried to download Sleepyhead but it wouldn't download. I'm hoping to get it when I eventually get a new computer, but am waiting for this one to crash first.) But according to MyAir my AHIs are good - almost always under 3, but my leaks are 14L/min. (For awhile they were averaging about 10.) I'm thinking that since my AHIs are good that it's not that relevant. I'm not sure if it's a problem or not, so would like the opinion of you experts out there. My sleep doctor said he would like them to be under 10 (or was it 6)? Anyway, I appreciate any opinions I can get from you guys.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Leaks (Too high?)
MyAir provides limited info and if we wanted to see whether the leaks are effecting your therapy we would need to see your SH graphs. Any leak rate less than 24/L is usually not worrisome as the machine can overcome that rate. However, we would need to see how long you might be above that max line per night. I saw my leak rate creeping up as well with the P10s and have recently trialed the new Rio mask and back to the Dreamwear liking both. I would encourage you to download the brokenGL version of SH so you can install it and then post some data for members to review.
Coffee