Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account



Learning Curve..
#1
..(and running off the road)...

One month tomorrow on Mizz Crackers' CPAP.... I have been in search of a way to read the SD card, and get the info into SH.

After one real good guy board member suggested that most laptops have a card slot...(my 'antique' desktop does not), and remembering that I had bought her a new laptop a few months back and Sho Nuff!!, there's a card slot in there!

Loaded the SH/Software into the laptop, popped a card into her machine, getting all excited that now we can really monitor what is going on, and the SW tells me that this particular machine only records 'hours of use' data...

Oh Sh....... Poop!!!

So yesterday I called the nice folks that I bought it from...Explained that I'm pretty ignorant about CPAP matters, and apparently bought the wrong machine...And guess what!...there's an upgraded one, that will do the proper recorded readouts, it's on the way (same day). When it gets here, I send the first one back to them for a full credit, and I only pay the difference in cost between the two....

Friends...ya just can't beat that kind of helpful service! I'd love to post who and where they are, but I'm unsure of a possible forum rule infraction...

But...I'm real sure that the second new CPAP will Supply her with just what she needs to get back on the road to better health. I also hear that it rains a lot in Spokane WA.

Best to all!

FLc

Reply
#2
Ya'll lucked out on that one!
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Reply
#3
You got real lucky there FL.
Keep us informed as to how things go.
BTW I use a device to read SD cards that connects to my PC via a USB Hub.. works ok.
REMBER.. to LOCK your SD card BEFORE you insert it in your computer. and UNLOCK it before you put it back in your CPAP machine.

Coffee
Reply


#4
If the people you got the unit from are on the supplier list you can refer to them by their number. If not you can PM SS the name of the supplier and ask if he'll open a thread to add them to the list. We have a procedure in place for that too.

Great luck on getting the other unit, very good deal, all the best.
If everyone thinks alike, then someone isn't thinking.
Everyone knows something, together we could know everything.
Reply
#5
Or you can give their name just not any web address. At least this is what I remember.
Reply
#6
You could simply say "Supplier #9" from the trusty-dusty Apneaboard Supplier List. That would work.
Reply


#7
(10-28-2014, 11:06 AM)retired_guy Wrote: You could simply say "Supplier #9" from the trusty-dusty Apneaboard Supplier List. That would work.

There ya go RG!! That's the one....

Can't say enough regarding their helpful service, and very reasonable pricing on all items CPAP related.

I might add that the person I mostly spoke and dealt with, I'm pretty sure, is the owner of company. A gentleman named Andrew...Gracious and generous to say the least.

You need supplies, or a new/upgrade machine, give these kind folks a look-up. You won't be sorry!

FLc

Reply
#8
Hi FLcracker,
It's good to hear that you got such great service from your DME, (Durable Medical Equipment,) company.
Good luck to you and your wife, with the new machine.
trish6hundred
Reply
#9
Not sure what machine your getting FL. If its a Resmed then everyone seems to say you need to lock and unlock the SD card.

If its a Respironics PRS1 machine you dont need to worry about locking the SD card.
Reply


#10
(10-28-2014, 04:42 PM)Ghost1958 Wrote: Not sure what machine your getting FL. If its a Resmed then everyone seems to say you need to lock and unlock the SD card.

If its a Respironics PRS1 machine you dont need to worry about locking the SD card.

An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.
I'm sure you would agree with me if you have ever lost some data due to not locking the write capability to you card.
Coffee
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Air curve 10 and Sleepyhead software sleepyOttawaSteve 16 1,404 02-26-2016, 10:29 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
Angry Rainout with Climate Control Air Curve! Kate 4 762 01-09-2016, 08:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed Air Curve 10 data problem swwalden1 6 2,066 05-22-2015, 03:51 PM
Last Post: swwalden1
  learning the hard way...not what you think, a rant! storywizard 29 4,458 04-25-2015, 06:54 PM
Last Post: storywizard
  [CPAP] Air Curve ASV - Newbie randeh 43 7,456 04-19-2015, 05:59 PM
Last Post: retired_guy
  Air Curve ASV JGG1945 13 3,454 04-08-2015, 07:36 AM
Last Post: JGG1945
  Learning about my new CPAP Machine callum25 4 1,300 12-31-2014, 11:03 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.