Post Reply 
Longer hose question
Author Message
Pete1 Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Responics system one
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus Medium
Humidifier: Respnonics System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 8-14 auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Door County, Wisconsin

Post: #1
Longer hose question
I've been thinking about moving my cpap machine to the bathroom and running the hose through the wall. If I do that I would need a longer hose. The whining sound that it makes changes in pitch with each breath. The sound is very suttle, but I hear it. Whine may even be coming in through the hose. I'm not sure. Anyways, this is my second machine. Both machined whined. (Responics System One) My question is this. Has anyone gone to a 12' hose and experience a drop in pressure or increase in apneas because of the longer hose? I suppose I could monitor my apneas daily and see if there is a change. I'm averaging .5 to 3 AHI a night, which I don't want it to increase on me. I'm running a fan (white noise) in my room know which helps some.
Please advise. Thinking-about
05-18-2016 07:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pupcamper Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 400
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: PR DreamStation CPAP Pro
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 Pillows; Quatro Air FFM
Humidifier: DreamStation Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10.5 cmH2O; no ramp; no C-Flex
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments: Lung cancer survivor since 11/2004; CPAP since 11/2015

Sex: Male
Location: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA.

Post: #2
RE: Longer hose question
(05-18-2016 07:14 PM)Pete1 Wrote:  I've been thinking about moving my cpap machine to the bathroom and running the hose through the wall. If I do that I would need a longer hose. The whining sound that it makes changes in pitch with each breath. The sound is very suttle, but I hear it. Whine may even be coming in through the hose. I'm not sure. Anyways, this is my second machine. Both machined whined. (Responics System One) My question is this. Has anyone gone to a 12' hose and experience a drop in pressure or increase in apneas because of the longer hose? I suppose I could monitor my apneas daily and see if there is a change. I'm averaging .5 to 3 AHI a night, which I don't want it to increase on me. I'm running a fan (white noise) in my room know which helps some.
Please advise. Thinking-about

Welcome to the forum, Pete1.

You should be OK with the longer hose. I've attached a link to one of my threads where I asked the same question as well as another thread I found useful. Hope this helps.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-Hose-length-change

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ose-length

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
(This post was last modified: 05-18-2016 07:41 PM by pupcamper.)
05-18-2016 07:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,496
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #3
RE: Longer hose question
Welcome

Do you have a shoebox or something like that that you can poke a few holes in the back? That should cut down on the noise I would think. If it is that bad, maybe there is something wrong with the machine.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
(This post was last modified: 05-18-2016 07:58 PM by AlanE.)
05-18-2016 07:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
palerider Offline

Preferred Members-

Posts: 440
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: s9 vpap auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: p10
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 18/13+
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas(ish)

Post: #4
RE: Longer hose question
respironics machines are just whiny... it's a byproduct of their lower tech blower...

but, I wouldn't put it in the bathroom, every time you flush, there's an aerosol of what was in the toilet that gets infused in the room air...

think about it.
05-18-2016 08:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,449
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: Longer hose question
Hi Pete1,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more suggestions and answers to your question and much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
05-18-2016 08:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #6
RE: Longer hose question
I know the OP is about a PR machine.
ResMed machines have two setting for hose length: 2 meters and 3 meters.
I'm not sure is a longer hose might interfere with apnea event classification. (OA v CA)

And, if you're going to do a manual start, you'd need really long arms.

Try some foam ear plugs.. or, just get old like me. I cannot even hear our alarm system!

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-18-2016 09:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,180
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #7
RE: Longer hose question
I personally wouldn't move it to a bathroom. eeew
It's true that flushing a toilet does spray a mist into the room. It's not something you can see.

Besides that, the humidity created in a bathroom can't be ideal for your machine.

I think there are other things you can try...like placing APAP on the floor, or using a rubber padding under the machine to absorb noise.

I have heard of some that place their machine in a night stand drawer, and drill a hole in the back for the hose.
Good luck.

OpalRose
(This post was last modified: 05-18-2016 09:45 PM by OpalRose.)
05-18-2016 09:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
monikah123 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset for Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 with breathe-right strips
Humidifier: built in
CPAP Pressure: 12.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 2 months of mask hell, now using a P10

Sex: Female
Location: Canada

Post: #8
RE: Longer hose question
Rather than move it into the bathroom, how about building a sound-proof box around it? I did this for my 3D printer and cut way down on the sound and those things are loud!! It doesn't have to be thick. I've drilled various holes in it for cables and it still works.

[Image: 26829913320_a435ba4e9d_n.jpg]

[Image: 27035588191_1424ebe0ee_n.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 05-18-2016 10:02 PM by monikah123.)
05-18-2016 09:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
palerider Offline

Preferred Members-

Posts: 440
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: s9 vpap auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: p10
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 18/13+
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas(ish)

Post: #9
RE: Longer hose question
(05-18-2016 09:36 PM)justMongo Wrote:  I know the OP is about a PR machine.
ResMed machines have two setting for hose length: 2 meters and 3 meters.
I'm not sure is a longer hose might interfere with apnea event classification. (OA v CA)

hose length has nothing to do with detection or classification, the setting is to allow the machine to compensate for pressure drop due to hose resistance.

and the resmed machines have three hose settings, slim, standard, and 3 meter.

the slim and standard hoses just happen to be 1.83 meters in length.
05-18-2016 10:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
kwhenrykerr Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 242
Joined: May 2016

Machine: DreamStation Auto, AirSense 10 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: Philips, AirSense 10
CPAP Pressure: 12-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 2L added oxygen with CMS50F to check usage

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #10
RE: Longer hose question
I would think that being as air is very compressible increasing the hose volume by adding would lessen the effect of any change in air flow until the increase in volume is overcome. The sensors that record events are going to be set for the expected volume. This longer hose may make the recorded number of triggered events change when in fact they have not.

That said I put a longer hose on my cpap to add a place to hookup the oxygen hose. It makes my numbers look better. I just know that when I use the longer hose and oxygen that the reports are false. But I feel better when it is used. Waking up without a pounding head is nice.

Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
05-19-2016 02:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [CPAP] hose valve noise ArtistEd 7 235 12-05-2016 11:05 PM
Last Post: ArtistEd
  Climateline hose duffer54 4 337 11-05-2016 03:24 PM
Last Post: 0rangebear
  Heated hose check ST1300 7 586 10-30-2016 09:15 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Water in hose after cleaning... JustMac 3 366 10-30-2016 06:51 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  The Water Thing and the Hose harmon k 4 355 10-23-2016 08:01 PM
Last Post: surferdude2
  Newb Brisbane Hose Head BigWillyAus 10 532 10-20-2016 05:36 PM
Last Post: BigWillyAus
  Dreamstation heated hose vs hose cover vs plain hose NorthernGuy 5 365 10-19-2016 07:23 PM
Last Post: johno02

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)