Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Loud noise from vent air holes
Loud noise from vent air holes
I am new to the resmed vpap auto. I recently had a third sleep study and my settings were changed from 11/6 to 17/12. I've tried different masks and I'm currently using a chin strap and a nasal pillow. The machine and mask are quiet until around 1:30 AM when my husband is nudging, poking, etc me because he says a lot of air that is noisy and high pitched(as he puts it "it sounds like a freight train") is coming fro the vent holes. Any suggestions???
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Loud noise from vent air holes
You may want to look to your data and see if the 1:30 time is about when the pressure tops out. If these are not leaks one option to a lawyer is letting him use a separate bedroom.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Swall1,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Just a thought, could it be that your mask has moved slightly out of place and you are getting leaks?
Hang in there for more suggestions and best of luck.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
Another thing to check is if there is something in front of your vents when the noise is happening. I've noticed that an otherwise quiet nasal pillow mask gets quite loud if something is in its path, like a pillow, bedding / covers, or even an arm. Next time you get a 'nudge' from your husband, try to pay attention to how you are facing and what the air from the nasal pillows might be hitting.

If you're a side or stomach sleeper, you may need to move your face closer to the edge of the pillow so that the mask clears it.
Post Reply Post Reply