Post Reply 
Machine not working right help
Author Message
glenfuoss Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: ResMed AutoSetII
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: resmed
CPAP Pressure: 12.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Machine not working right help
I am travelling in Ecuador, got here last night, my machine doesn't work. i HAVE a resmed autosetII, when i turn it on it starts, but immediatelly turns off, saying to check tube. This machine was working perfectly at home, Sioux Falls sd. I wonder if if has to do with altitude? We are at 9000 feet here, were as at home we are at 1300. All our other equipment(hair dryer, alarm clock) seem to work normelly, so I don't think it is voltage related. Any Ideas, anyone??>???????
02-01-2013 09:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DocWils Offline

Members-b

Posts: 1,271
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: Philips Remstar series 60
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed P10
Humidifier: same as machine
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Switzerland

Post: #2
RE: Machine not working right help
I don't know abut ReMed machines, but Philips machines have an altitude adjust (certainly necessary here in Switzerland) so probably you need to look at that. The other question of course is how you packed the machine - did you take it carry-on or in the checked baggage, because the latter may be a problem - these machines are a titch on the delicate side and can be damaged in checked baggage.
02-01-2013 11:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #3
RE: Machine not working right help
Unplug the machine from the wall. Wait a few moments. Plug it back in. See if that "fixed" it.

If not, is the humidifier a separate thing? If so, disconnect the humidifier and hook the hose directly to the machine. Does that help any?

I don't think it is the altitude because the machine doesn't know where it is. It just won't put out what it thinks it is putting out.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-01-2013 01:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: Machine not working right help
Hi glenfuoss,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
What Paula said.
Best of luck to you with getting your machine to work.

trish6hundred
02-01-2013 01:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zimlich Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 392
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics PR System One BiPap Auto SV Advanced
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed gel Nasal Mask
Humidifier: System One
CPAP Pressure: 8-20 ASV, 8 EPAP,PS 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I use the Quattro FFM when necessary

Sex: Female
Location: Norfolk, VA

Post: #5
RE: Machine not working right help
There were some good suggestions. I would also wonder if the voltage was correct and don't use an extention cord.
Good luck, keep us posted.
Mary
02-01-2013 02:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
TheWerkz Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 261
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i & ClimateLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP 11 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas, TX - USA - Planet Earth

Post: #6
RE: Machine not working right help
(02-01-2013 09:54 AM)glenfuoss Wrote:  I am travelling in Ecuador, got here last night, my machine doesn't work. i HAVE a resmed autosetII, when i turn it on it starts, but immediatelly turns off, saying to check tube.

Hi Glen,

I'm making the assumption you have a S8 AutoSet II since you didn't indicate the series in your profile.

From the ResMed S8 User Guide:

Displays error message: Check tube!! Key if done

Problem: Air tubing is loose or blocked.

Solution: Air tubing is loose or blocked. Check that the air tubing is connected securely to your mask and the air outlet to the front of the S8 Series II. When you have checked the air tubing, press the Start/Stop key to restart the device. If this does not clear the message, disconnect the power cord and then reconnect it to restart the device.

Let us know if you get it working.

Ren
02-01-2013 02:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
TheWerkz Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 261
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i & ClimateLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP 11 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas, TX - USA - Planet Earth

Post: #7
RE: Machine not working right help
(02-01-2013 02:22 PM)zimlich Wrote:  I would also wonder if the voltage was correct

Mary,

The S8 can utilize any normal household voltages anywhere in the world, from 100–240V, 50/60Hz so, voltage shouldn't be an issue as long as there's a receptacle or adapter for the local A/C plug configuration.
02-01-2013 02:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 227 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Changes in how the machine has been working? Xinectyl 9 305 11-07-2016 12:02 PM
Last Post: Xinectyl
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 2 6,043 10-12-2016 11:37 AM
Last Post: DariaVader
Gross [Equipment] Unit not working Monty6894 3 359 09-18-2016 06:52 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Equipment] Dreamstation Auto ON/OFF set but not working newb 11 2,155 09-14-2016 02:39 PM
Last Post: rkl122
  Remstar quit working ropdve 4 382 09-06-2016 05:11 PM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Treatment] Auto CPAP, high/erratic AHI, high Clear Apneas - it's not working jmortensenjr 10 752 08-30-2016 09:07 PM
Last Post: jmortensenjr

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)