Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Mask Tightness / Itching
Mask Tightness / Itching
Hi,

I'm relatively new to CPAP, been using it about 2 months.

I have two questions:

1. How tight should the mask be? I keep reading about people having leak problems, but I haven't experienced this. A typical nights leak stats are Median 0.0, 95th Percentile 0.0, Maximum 1.2.

Might I have my mask too tight? It may sound silly but can this cause permanent creases etc in your face, as I will be wearing this mask 8 hours every day?

2. Probably the biggest issue I have is getting an itch on my nose and not being able to scratch it. I try to ignore it, but it just gets more and more unbearable. So I have to stop the machine, take off the mask, itch my nose, then strap back in. This happens several time throughout the night, and so is somewhat disruptive to my sleep. Is this something that goes away the more you get used to the therapy?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Mask Tightness / Itching
24 L/m leak or whereabouts is acceptable leak, I,m not that terribly concerned about leak as long as don,t come near my eyes and when that happen, its time to replace the cushion. I think its better to have some leak (as long as not disturbing your sleep) than having pain and discomfort from over-tightening the headgear

As for the itch, I just lift the mask and scratch, not much can do about that, maybe less humidity may help. Its all about compromise

Edit: In the early days, I used to make a mask liner which helps with the irritation, you can buy ready made ones too ... Remzzz and pad a cheek
Post Reply Post Reply