Post Reply 
Measuring CPAP Pressure with AG Industries Manometer Kit
Author Message
BobF Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 97
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Blue Gel Full Face Large
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 12.8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: So. CA.

Post: #1
Measuring CPAP Pressure with AG Industries Manometer Kit
I have the AG Industries Manometer Kit-K1. It has an adapter that connects inline with the CPAP hose and mask. My question is the pressure varies with breathing. I have a ResMed S9 Elite and a Respironics Comfort Gel Blue full face mask. If the machine is supposedly set to 12 cmH20 should the manometer read that pressure as the maximum? There is a built in leak in the mask. If I block the vent should the blocked line pressure read 12 cmH20? Thanks, Bob.
(This post was last modified: 02-15-2016 01:56 AM by BobF.)
02-15-2016 01:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #2
RE: Measuring CPAP Pressure with AG Industries Manometer Kit
(02-15-2016 01:43 AM)BobF Wrote:  If the machine is supposedly set to 12 cmH20 should the manometer read that pressure as the maximum?

It should read 12 when inhaling. If you have EPR set to zero it should also read 12 when exhaling.

Quote:If I block the vent should the blocked line pressure read 12 cmH20?

I'm not sure how the machine would respond. I wouldn't recommend trying that!

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-15-2016 02:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
BobF Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 97
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Blue Gel Full Face Large
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 12.8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: So. CA.

Post: #3
RE: Measuring CPAP Pressure with AG Industries Manometer Kit
(02-15-2016 02:59 AM)Sleepster Wrote:  
(02-15-2016 01:43 AM)BobF Wrote:  If the machine is supposedly set to 12 cmH20 should the manometer read that pressure as the maximum?

It should read 12 when inhaling. If you have EPR set to zero it should also read 12 when exhaling.

Quote:If I block the vent should the blocked line pressure read 12 cmH20?

I'm not sure how the machine would respond. I wouldn't recommend trying that!

Hi. OK. Thanks, Bob.
02-15-2016 12:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #4
RE: Measuring CPAP Pressure with AG Industries Manometer Kit
It may be necessary to hold your breath momentarily to get a true reading since the pressure regulation response time isn't instantaneous.

Some people test the pressure by putting the supply hose deep into a container of water and slowly withdrawing it until bubbles appear, then measuring the length of the immersed section. Not extremely accurate but good enough.

Dude
02-15-2016 01:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #5
RE: Measuring CPAP Pressure with AG Industries Manometer Kit
I had my machine checked by my DME - 6 month checkup. I believe the manometer they used did not have any venting. OTOH, the shorty from my Wisp could be adapted easily, and would include the venting.

I don't know how much difference it would make, since I believe that centrifugal vane fans are used. They survive low and zero flows quite nicely.
02-15-2016 03:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
BobF Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 97
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Blue Gel Full Face Large
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 12.8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: So. CA.

Post: #6
RE: Measuring CPAP Pressure with AG Industries Manometer Kit
(02-15-2016 12:30 PM)BobF Wrote:  
(02-15-2016 02:59 AM)Sleepster Wrote:  
(02-15-2016 01:43 AM)BobF Wrote:  If the machine is supposedly set to 12 cmH20 should the manometer read that pressure as the maximum?

It should read 12 when inhaling. If you have EPR set to zero it should also read 12 when exhaling.

Quote:If I block the vent should the blocked line pressure read 12 cmH20?

I'm not sure how the machine would respond. I wouldn't recommend trying that!

Hi. OK. Thanks, Bob.

I bought a new AG Industries analog pressure gauge that reads 0-30 cmH20. The instructions say to read the blocked line pressure. It reads 10 cmH20 which is low as it is set to 12.4 cmH20. My AHI's have drastically changed recently. I took it to the DME that originally supplied the CPAP machine. They said it was OK but I do not trust them as the pressure I measured is lower than the setting. I am going to my new DME supplier ASAP and watch them as they test it. My S9 was obtained in 2012 and has been used at least 4 hours every night so there are a lot of hours on it. Has anyone else found that their S9 was not supplying the correct pressure? Can they be easily locally repaired?

Thanks, Bob.
02-21-2016 03:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,268 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
  [Pressure] Adjusting pressure on RESmart CPAP machine garyd86421 5 451 10-20-2016 10:32 AM
Last Post: garyd86421
  [CPAP] ANOTHER CPAP PRESSURE CHANGE!!! jennie54 3 421 10-11-2016 04:44 PM
Last Post: SaldusMiegas
  Auto-Trial –delivers CPAP therapy adjusting pressure 30days ICEMAN 8 1,233 09-24-2016 12:34 PM
Last Post: green wings
  [CPAP] new CPAP patient: air pressure questions giftofsleep 6 510 09-21-2016 12:00 AM
Last Post: chill
  Is it okay to decrease cpap pressure after nose surgery? kowlooner 8 572 09-13-2016 11:33 AM
Last Post: kowlooner
  RESMED S9 CPAP SET PRESSURE VIDEO jxyzobrien 0 328 08-21-2016 06:05 AM
Last Post: jxyzobrien

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)