Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Medicare and Travel CPAP?
Medicare and Travel CPAP?
I need a new auto-CPAP, and believe I meet all the requirements for Medicare to pay 80%.  However, my Doc told me that Medicare would pay zero for a travel CPAP (I want the Resmed AirMini) - even though the prices I'm seeing for this unit are completely in line with others I would want.  A couple of online DME suppliers refused to comment regarding "insurance issues" - they said to "contact my insurance company" - I'm not hopeful about getting a comprehensible answer from Medicare.

I'm new to Medicare, so I haven't been through the process yet, but can someone please advise if the above is correct?  If so, are there other restrictions on the type of device that Medicare will cover, and if so, where can I find them?

Thanks!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Medicare and Travel CPAP?
I think the AirMini can be approved as your primary machine. I don't think they differentiate any E0601 device by whether it is suitable for travel or intended as a stationary machine. There are some drawbacks to the AirMini as a primary machine, such as no humidifier, shorter and narrower tubing and mask compatibility, and the Airsense 11 machine is not that difficult to travel with.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply