Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Medicare in the U.S. Question about masks
Medicare in the U.S. Question about masks
I’m a newbie with almost two weeks using CPAP and am still making adjustments based on great advice from members of this board/forum.  Thank you.

My question is specific to Medicare in the U.S. as it relates to masks.

I was originally fitted with ResMed P10 and liked it but had issues with mouth leaks and returned to my assigned DME and was fitted for AirFit F20.  

I kept the P10 despite DME asking me to return it next time I came by.

I’m alternating and still trying to decide which is best for me.

My questions (Medicare) are:

1),  Did Medicare buy the masks!  If so then they are both mine - right?

If true, then 

2).  How many masks will Medicare buy at the beginning to ensure good long term fit?

3).  Will Medicare pay for AirTouch foam cushions for F20 or just the AiFit?

I know Medicare will continue to provide Mask, cushions, at a set rate - but my question relates to how many times, or how many different masks, will Medicare pay for initially?

My DME said something to the effect that each additional “fitting” is costing the DME $$ and I’m not sure that is accurate.

As always thank you.

PS:  getting my APAP tuned in and AHI’s are improving along with OA’s & CA’s.  Will look for further refinements after a few more days of trial.  Thank you.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Medicare in the U.S. Question about masks
All DME’s operate differently, but the normal is that for the first 30 days, they should allow you to try a couple masks to see what works best.  Some DME’s may ask for the first mask to be returned, but some will allow you to keep it.  I’m sure they have a limit as to how many masks they let you try.