Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] CPAP doesn't seem to be helping - any suggestions?
CPAP doesn't seem to be helping - any suggestions?
Hi Folks

I'm new to using CPAP, I use a FP SleepStyle CPAP machine. It took me weeks to get use to it, as I had to keep tinkering with the settings to find the perfect settings, and then also switched to the DreamWear mask which is very good as I can now turn on my sides much easier. 

Settings:
min pressure: set to 6.5 
max pressure: set to 11.
Expiratory Relief: Turned on slightly (only 1/3 just to make it a bit easier to breathe out)

SensAwake: Turned off as I heard that resetting the pressure while sleeping is not good
Humidity: 3/7

AHI: Usually between 1.5 and 3.3 with CPAP (Prior to CPAP I was monitored at 38 AHI events per hour)

I sleep for about 8h. I haven't seen much improvement in my energy/alertness since going on CPAP. 

Is there anything else that I should be doing to improve the quality of my sleep? Also how do I know that the CPAP is working? Does AHI give enough indicator that my sleep apnea isn't an issue anymore?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: CPAP doesn't seem to be helping - any suggestions?
While your summary looks very good you can download OSCAR and post your daily charts, use F12 as it performs some temp minor formatting for the screenshot. This is what will give us the best data to see what is going on.
Post Reply Post Reply
As Gideon says, it will be very helpful if you can get going with Oscar and post a screenshot of a daily chart.

Meanwhile, be really honest with yourself about the extent to which you follow this advice for better sleep:

• Keep a consistent sleep schedule. Get up at the same time every day, even on weekends or during vacations.