Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Settings help for an S9 VPAP Auto
Settings help for an S9 VPAP Auto
Hello, I have been using an S9 Autoset for over a year now and it is working well, but I was recently given an S9 VPAP Auto and I want to try it out. I tried to get the instructions from RewsMed but I'm not a healthcare professional so I was blocked. Is there a link somewhere that I can use? Thanks, Jim

P.S. It came without it's own SD chip so can I move my chip to the new machine, or should I get a new chip for this machine?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Settings help for an S9 VPAP Auto
okrobie,

You should be able to the clinical manual for your machine from the appropriate part of this web site.

You will need to think about the settings you want to use on the S9 VPAP Auto. Keep in mind that the combination of EPAP, IPAP, and PS settings replaces the Pressure and EPR settings.

To most closely match your current S9 AutoSet settings, you would use the following settings on the VPAP:
  • PS on the VPAP = EPR on the AutoSet
  • Min EPAP on the VPAP = Min Pressure - EPR on the AutoSet (provided this number > 4; otherwise Min EPAP = 4)
  • Max IPAP on the VPAP = Max Pressure on the AutoSet

I'd leave all the TiMin, TiMax, Trigger, and Cycle settings at their defaults to start with.

The biggest difference between the VPAP and the AutoSet is that PS can be set to something larger than 3. If you want to experiment with that, start slowly with a PS = 4. Keep in mind that for a (very) small number of PAPers, a large PS can have a tendency to trigger some CAs. So if your CAI goes up, cut back on the PS.
Questions about SleepyHead?  
See my Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post