Post Reply 
More trouble with SD card
Author Message
Canadian_Jesus Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: May 2014

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

Post: #1
More trouble with SD card
I have been using Sleepyhead for a month and a half now to read my graphs and gain a better understanding of what goes on with my sleep apnea during the night. But what I've found most practical from those graphs is the leak data. Using which, I have been able to manage my leaks; they are now effectively under control.

The problem remaining, a problem that I have had since I started reading my card data, is; whenever I read the data off the card using my laptop, my S9 elite gives a message saying I am using an invalid SD card. Then, it gives me an option whether or not to erase all card data. In order to use my SD card again, I have to select 'yes' , reformatting my card for further use all the while erasing all data on it.

I have all this time been copying and pasting the SD card into a folder on my laptop every time I read the data. Day at a time, or even up to a week at a time, compiling my data there so that I can copy and paste that onto my SD card when my Sleep Therapist needs to read it. I find this method impractical, as I can only find June's data on my Sleepyhead program and not in the DataLog folder. Oops, I guess I have done something wrong there in the process.

I have asked for help previously on this forum, telling me to lock the card when I read it; which I do. I have also been given a command to enter into command prompt, deleting the "system volume information" file that Windows 8 puts onto an unlocked SD card.

del "F:\System Volume Information\IndexerVolumeGuid"
rmdir "F:\System Volume Information

It asks me if I'm sure? Y/N, so I type Y and hit 'enter'

This solution does not work for me, as when I put my SD card back into my S9 elite unit, it still presents me with a message asking me to delete all data from my card.

This forum has been extremely helpful and informative to me. I have learned basic data interpreting skills, and much information on how to make my mask fit best. Needless to say, this community has been more helpful than my sleep therapist at my DME! So, would you people be so kind as to offer further input into this persisting issue that I have been having?
07-12-2014 07:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
MAPnea Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 182
Joined: May 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet - currently "set" on CPAP mode
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit F10 and P10 - varies
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: New Sleep Doc + New DME = Trying new approach to PAP therapy.

Sex: Female
Location: near Great Basin National Park, Nevada

Post: #2
RE: More trouble with SD card
How frustrating for you! I'm using SleepyHead with Windows 8.1 and haven't had the problems you're having. I simply save my data on SleepyHead. Locking my card seems to have stopped my ResMed S9 Autoset from giving me the same prompt you are getting on your machine. Wish I could help you, but I can't. I'm sure someone else will come along soon with a solution - or, other things to try.

Five stars for learning all you've learned and reducing you mask leaks! I think you made a keen observation about mask leaks. Good luck.
07-12-2014 08:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #3
RE: More trouble with SD card
(07-12-2014 07:52 PM)Canadian_Jesus Wrote:  I have all this time been copying and pasting the SD card into a folder on my laptop every time I read the data. Day at a time, or even up to a week at a time, compiling my data there so that I can copy and paste that onto my SD card when my Sleep Therapist needs to read it.

Hi Canadian_Jesus,

Every time the machine reformats the SD card (or erases all data), it will copy onto the card the most recent year's worth of compliance data (hours of use per night) plus statistical summary data for each night. (Mean Leaks, 95 percentile Leaks and Max Leaks, AHI, Obstructive OAI, Central CAI, etc.)

If the Sleep Therapist would be interested in more than just compliance data and statistical summary data (and if so, then kudos to him!) then I would suggest that you not download any data from your card for the 7 days immediately prior to your appointment with the Sleep Therapist. That way he will be able to review one week of full detailed data. Immediately after the appointment (before you return the SD card to the machine and turn the machine ON again) you could download the data on the card into SleepyHead and/or ResScan.

By the way, if using a new SD card does not help, perhaps you have a virus on your laptop which is writing to the card?

Good luck and take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 07-12-2014 08:33 PM by vsheline.)
07-12-2014 08:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
diamaunt Offline

Members-b

Posts: 436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Auto 36006
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: mirage quattro/pilairo q
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 9-20ish
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: texas

Post: #4
RE: More trouble with SD card
it's a well known issue with windows 8.1 and some macos's,

not being a windows person, I don't remember the 'helpful feature' that microsoft put on windows 8.1 that corrupts the card (it's not sleepyhead) but others in the forum know, and will hopefully chime in.

in the meantime, locking the card *should* keep windows from being able to write anything..

if it's still writing things, then you've got a card reader that ignores the little lock tab.

there's some way (reportedly) to tell windows not to do the indexy thing... I think, but I don't know what it is.
(This post was last modified: 07-12-2014 08:48 PM by diamaunt.)
07-12-2014 08:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
robysue Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,235
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #5
RE: More trouble with SD card
(07-12-2014 07:52 PM)Canadian_Jesus Wrote:  The problem remaining, a problem that I have had since I started reading my card data, is; whenever I read the data off the card using my laptop, my S9 elite gives a message saying I am using an invalid SD card. Then, it gives me an option whether or not to erase all card data. In order to use my SD card again, I have to select 'yes' , reformatting my card for further use all the while erasing all data on it.
and
Quote:I have asked for help previously on this forum, telling me to lock the card when I read it; which I do. I have also been given a command to enter into command prompt, deleting the "system volume information" file that Windows 8 puts onto an unlocked SD card.

del "F:\System Volume Information\IndexerVolumeGuid"
rmdir "F:\System Volume Information

It asks me if I'm sure? Y/N, so I type Y and hit 'enter'

This solution does not work for me, as when I put my SD card back into my S9 elite unit, it still presents me with a message asking me to delete all data from my card.
It does not surprise me that deleting the system volume information does not work. That can still leave traces that the card's contents have been "changed".

But you also seem to be saying that physically locking the card does not work either. And that's a big concern: The SD card is a physical lock, not a software lock, and apparently your computer is getting around that physical lock in some fashion.

Some things to try in terms of troubleshooting the issue:

1) Put a locked SD card into your computer and try to write a file to it. (I'd suggest NOT using your S9's SD card for this experiment.) If you can write a file to a locked SD card, then you know there's something not right in how your computer is reacting to the lock on the SD card. Perhaps the SD slot is worn enough where it can't tell the position of the Lock switch. In that case, using a new SD card reader plugged into a USB port might be the answer.

2) Run a complete malware scan on your computer's system even if you do keep up-to-date anti-virus software on your computer. Way, way, way back in Fall 2010, I had this problem every time I imported my Resmed S9 AutoSet's SD card into ResScan on a Windows XP machine even though I locked the card. I could put the locked SD card into my mac and back up the DATALOG folder and stick it back into the S9 and the S9 didn't complain. But if I put the card into the XP machine and then back into the S9, the S9 squawked big time. Hubby finally told me to run a full malware scan, and we found some viruses and/or worms. Disinfecting the XP fixed the problem.

3) Try a brand new SD card. Perhaps the lock switch on the SD card itself is faulty and replacing the card might fix the problem.

Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
07-12-2014 08:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: More trouble with SD card
Try rebooting, unplug from wall socket, wait a while and plug back, if does not helps:
might be corrupt SD card, faulty card reader, machine SD card slot faulty spring, or something else have not come across before yet
(This post was last modified: 07-12-2014 09:08 PM by zonk.)
07-12-2014 09:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
diamaunt Offline

Members-b

Posts: 436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Auto 36006
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: mirage quattro/pilairo q
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 9-20ish
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: texas

Post: #7
RE: More trouble with SD card
(07-12-2014 08:58 PM)robysue Wrote:  The SD card is a physical lock, not a software lock, and apparently your computer is getting around that physical lock in some fashion.

Robysue, the lock on an sd card is just a sliding bit of plastic, like the locks on the old 3.5" floppy disks, the actual write protect activity happens in the card reader, and not all of them have the little switch that detects whether the slider is locked or not.

that may be the OP's problem.

I've got a usb sd card reader right here that's that way.
07-12-2014 09:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Skypilot Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 96
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed Hire
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AIRFITâ„¢ P10 nasal pilow
Humidifier: H5i Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Doc said to try 12; was 14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: The land of Nod is but a dream.

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Canberra, Australia

Post: #8
RE: More trouble with SD card
I take out my SD card to read the data - I have had the SD card not recognised so I turned off the machine by holding the power button down for several seconds and then inserted the SD card and power on and all was fine - the SD card was recognised and read.

I used to get the message on my win 7 64 pc that (Words to the effect) I needed to format the SD card but I ignored that and went to the software and the card was still read and working well.

I also copy the data from the SD card to the PC - I have also copied the saved data to another SD card and have taken that to the sleep doc and he was able to read that OK although he did look at the card quizzically as it was not the normal ResMed card.
07-12-2014 09:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #9
RE: More trouble with SD card
(07-12-2014 07:52 PM)Canadian_Jesus Wrote:  I have asked for help previously on this forum, telling me to lock the card when I read it; which I do. I have also been given a command to enter into command prompt, deleting the "system volume information" file that Windows 8 puts onto an unlocked SD card.

del "F:\System Volume Information\IndexerVolumeGuid"
rmdir "F:\System Volume Information

Gosh CJ, what a pain for you.

As Diamaunt suggests, it may be a goofyness with your reader.

For openers however, when you entered the "Del F:" stuff, was the card set to lock? If so, by definition the "Del F:" stuff would fail.

Here's the script I use each morning. I put the SDCard in the machine, unlocked, and execute Sleepyhead from a file containing the following: (Note I'm drive "F:" where you're drive "G:")

@echo off
cd C:\Users\John\Desktop\SleepyHead-20140623-Win32-0.9.6-testbuild-Qt5.3.0-BrokenGL-WinXP-MinGW\SleepyHead-20140623-Win32-0.9.6-testbuild-Qt5.3.0-BrokenGL-WinXP
SleepyHead.exe
del "g:\System Volume Information\IndexerVolumeGuid"
rmdir "g:\System Volume Information"

Notice the script calls Sleepyhead first, then futzes with the card. I don't know if that matters or not.

All I did to create this script on the desktop was right-click and create a new Notepad file. Then entered the text and did a "Save As" Sleepy.bat.
07-12-2014 09:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
diamaunt Offline

Members-b

Posts: 436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Auto 36006
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: mirage quattro/pilairo q
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 9-20ish
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: texas

Post: #10
RE: More trouble with SD card
google is my friend... and probably yours:

how to turn off that "feature"

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windo...3f5?page=2
07-12-2014 09:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  New User Having Trouble Staying Asleep and more SnoreGalore 9 498 12-06-2016 08:00 PM
Last Post: SnoreGalore
  Having trouble with new mask rich2905 9 435 09-03-2016 03:44 AM
Last Post: rich2905
  Trouble with P10 mattmill 17 710 08-04-2016 08:30 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
  Try adding aromatherapy to your treatment if you are new and having trouble nzbnate 17 851 07-20-2016 03:07 PM
Last Post: RedCoPete
  Trouble with resmed 10 but loved my 8 puglady 12 863 04-29-2016 09:32 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Trouble with Airsense 10 Autoset Kitchenchem 8 1,383 03-24-2016 02:57 PM
Last Post: Kitchenchem
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,476 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)