Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

My battery backup setup
RE: My battery backup setup
(02-03-2020, 10:59 AM)lacro Wrote: Would you see if you can find the post showing the circuit? I looked but found nothing.

I think it's this one, but I'd have to wade through the whole thread to be sure. And even then, I'd be much more confident simply buying the ResMed converter.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...#pid165303
Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
RE: My battery backup setup
This works on an S9 Autoset, just by adding +3.3V & 2.7K resistor to pin 3

Pin 1 + 24V (S9 White wire)

Pin 2 - GRN  (S9 Braid wire)
Pin 3 + 3.3V Sense pin (small one) (S9 Black wire)

John vk3hjq

[Image: attachment.php?aid=27004]



justMongo Actually that circuit should not generate EMI.  It's a linear series regulator; not a switcher.  We see them right close to the resmed power bricks because they are switchers.  
Thanks Mongo for the answer about the EMI and for the photo of the cores in use.

I couldn't figure out WHERE any EMI could be coming from, and, even if it was there, how would it affect the ResMed machine, which is, essentially, just a fancy fan?

I guess EMI can affect the cellular modem, but, even so, the ResMed device itself, having a 3-phase brushless motor inside, certainly generates more noise than does this linear power supply.

I updated the graphic, and corrected the attribution to reflect that it's Steve's baby. We're helping out on the graphic making it easy for others to assimilate. I think the fact we drew something that "looks" like discrete components is nice in that a schematic would turn some people off (who don't know how to read them anyway).

On the fuse, it looks like the ResMed supplies max out at 3.75 amps, so, how does a 10 amp quick-blow fuse sound to you and to Steve?

Steve: Any update on the testing of the voltage?

The MOST IMPORTANT thing is the voltage on the ResMed power bus.
If we use batteries, they can fluctuate between, oh, I don't know, maybe 10 volts each to 15 volts each? That's 20 to 30 volts, which is ok for the regulator (just barely); but what about the ResMed device?

[Image: dT86Xf.gif]


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: My battery backup setup
OFFGRID - ResMEd AutoSense or VAuto - OFFGRID

(1) LESS $100 ::: Works GREAT ! ! ! , super easy just needs cigarette lighter outlet.
ResMed sells a 12VDC power supply with cigarette lighter plug. (part# 37297)
-- I HATE the darn cigarette lighter plugs because they often wiggle and lose connection/power , , so I end up needing to somehow provide a string lashing to keep tension on plug so it stays secure/connected.
-- The humidifier is a big power draw so I went from MAX humid to NO humid when in teardrop trailer with one little 12V (24 series) deep cycle battery and battery did OK and I did OK with no added humidity.

(2) More than $100 , More complicated , Works GREAT .
Inverters: I like the Victron Brand as they are pure sine power, seem high quality and provide very modern features.
-- Complication of setting up batteries and chargers is not for everybody.
-- Note: $50 BlueTooth smart dongle allows phone App to monitor inverter. We have the 1200W big inverter in shed with batteries , well pump and generators. From the cabin to the shed is about 20ft and I can be in cabin anywhere near the wall that is close to the shed and use the app to check battery voltage and inverter status and watch power consumption level.
-- Note: Victron sold worldwide so the type plug for USA is part of model # . i.e.NEMA 5-15R
Small stuff: $125-ish 375 watt, Victron Energy Phoenix True Sine Wave Inverter 12/375 120V VE.Direct NEMA 5-15R
-
Big Stuff: $400-ish 1200 watt, Victron Energy Phoenix True Sine Wave Inverter 12/1200 120V VE.Direct NEMA 5-15R
-
The 1200 Watt will: (1)  run our hot water pot for coffee tea (just will run it) , (2) run our 3qt instantPot for cooking.

******

   
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: My battery backup setup
(09-28-2020, 04:09 AM)vk3hjq Wrote:    

You can get these off ebay very cheap
____________________________________________________________

This works on an S9 Autoset, just by adding +3.3V & 2.7K resistor to pin 3

Pin 1 + 24V (S9 White wire)

Pin 2 - GRN  (S9 Braid wire)
Pin 3 + 3.3V Sense pin (small one) (S9 Black wire)

John vk3hjq

[Image: attachment.php?aid=27004]



justMongo Actually that circuit should not generate EMI.  It's a linear series regulator; not a switcher.  We see them right close to the resmed power bricks because they are switchers.  
Thanks Mongo for the answer about the EMI and for the photo of the cores in use.

I couldn't figure out WHERE any EMI could be coming from, and, even if it was there, how would it affect the ResMed machine, which is, essentially, just a fancy fan?

I guess EMI can affect the cellular modem, but, even so, the ResMed device itself, having a 3-phase brushless motor inside, certainly generates more noise than does this linear power supply.

I updated the graphic, and corrected the attribution to reflect that it's Steve's baby. We're helping out on the graphic making it easy for others to assimilate. I think the fact we drew something that "looks" like discrete components is nice in that a schematic would turn some people off (who don't know how to read them anyway).

On the fuse, it looks like the ResMed supplies max out at 3.75 amps, so, how does a 10 amp quick-blow fuse sound to you and to Steve?

Steve: Any update on the testing of the voltage?

The MOST IMPORTANT thing is the voltage on the ResMed power bus.
If we use batteries, they can fluctuate between, oh, I don't know, maybe 10 volts each to 15 volts each? That's 20 to 30 volts, which is ok for the regulator (just barely); but what about the ResMed device?

[Image: dT86Xf.gif]
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [CPAP] ResMed s9 VPAP ST Clinical setup menu locked axele1 2 93 10-11-2020, 12:21 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  Van Life Cpap to Van Battery ilovehotshot 3 108 10-09-2020, 12:22 PM
Last Post: mrmagloo
  ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV Setup sawsaydoe 3 156 09-25-2020, 07:07 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  Talentcell battery and Airsense 10? wordsandsigns 2 132 09-07-2020, 04:09 AM
Last Post: wordsandsigns
  New member/user needs setup help and advice. Wrenchtwister1 33 731 09-06-2020, 02:01 AM
Last Post: Wrenchtwister1
  Battery Power Pack - would this work for camping? Hydrangea 14 2,003 09-03-2020, 01:44 PM
Last Post: wordsandsigns
  How Many Nights of Travel with the PILOT-24 LITE battery with Resmed Air Mini dreamstream 1 178 08-28-2020, 09:26 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.