Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

After 10 months, still over 5 AHI.
After 10 months, still over 5 AHI.
I've been using my CPAP for over 10 months now and I just can't seem to get my AHI under 5-6.  My sleep study showed an AHI over 30.  After all that time, nothing much has changed in my energy levels or tiredness.

I know that one of my problems is obstructive, so I've tried a couple different products to try and keep my airway open, such a cervical collar and "The Eliminator" pillow.  Didn't seem to matter. Anyway, I'd love some suggestions.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: After 10 months, still over 5 AHI.
This will not help wot the central. Many times they reduce over time as your body become more accustomed to pap therapy. There are others here that may be able to help with centrals.

You do have some positional apnea. You can see it when there are grouped O or H events. It is a blockage of your airway that you are causing by the position you sleep.

We call it chin tucking where your chin drops to your sternum cutting off your airway. There are no settings on the pap machine that can help.

Sometimes it is as simple as sleeping on your back or a pillow that is to high. Those are easy to fix but if not you need a collar. Please read the link I have on collars in my signature
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed  Cervical Collar - Dealing w DME - Chart Organizing
Post Reply Post Reply