Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

My spouse is in denial
RE: My spouse is in denial
(08-17-2017, 10:18 AM)readyforsleep Wrote: I have been using nasal pillows for about 7 years.  My husband has been very good about it until now. 2 things are going on: 
1)  I am mouth breathing and have tried the chin strap route, cervical collar, tongue trick, even taping.  Still have large leaks.  I can't seem to explain to him that leaks are bad and that they defeat the effectiveness of cpap.  I am journeying into full face mask territory and he won't accept it.

I just asked my wife, and she says to tell you that if he loves you he will accept that this is something you need to do for your own health and well being.

Quote:2)  Because he has seen me fall asleep in the car and I had no apnea he does not think I need cpap anymore.

But you can't tell by watching someone sleep. If you could we would just watch people sleep instead of doing a polysomnography. You need the data! (More on this below).

Quote:He also feels like when I sleep at nite with the machine he doesn't hear me stop breathing etc or gasping for air thus I do not need cpap.

Well then he doesn't understand how CPAP therapy works. Its purpose is not to treat the effects caused by the gasping and the breath-stopping. Its purpose is to prevent or drastically reduce the occurrence of the gasping and breath-stopping. So the fact that he doesn't observe you gasping could instead be evidence that you do indeed need CPAP.